The Ultimate Collection: Live at the Ryman

The Ultimate Collection: Live at the Ryman

by Earl ScruggsEarl Scruggs


$15.69 $18.99 Save 17% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $18.99. You Save 17%.


Earl Scruggs first stepped onto the legendary Ryman Auditorium stage in 1945 as one of Bill Monroe's Blue Grass Boys. His signature three-fingered banjo style would go on to influence countless musicians in the years to come, cementing him as a legend in his own right. In 2007, at the age of 83, Scruggs took the stage again, this time with family and friends who included Rob Ickes (dobro), Randy Scruggs (guitar, vocals), John Jorgenson (mandolin, guitar, clarinet, vocals), Jon Randall (guitar vocals), Gary Scruggs (bass, vocals), Hoot Hester (fiddle, vocals), and John Gardner (drums) to record Ultimate Collection: Live at the Ryman for Rounder Records. Boasting 18 tracks that include perennial favorites like "Foggy Mountain Breakdown," "Lonesome Ruben," "Ballad of Jed Clampett," "Soldier's Joy," "In the Pines," and "Earl's Breakdown," it's not surprising that Scruggs hasn't lost a beat, as he's been tearing through most of these songs for well over 50 years. While 2005's Essential Earl Scruggs remains the best entry point into this bluegrass icon's impressive canon of songs, it would be hard not to want to delve deeper into the man's history after an evening spent with him at the Ryman.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/18/2008
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661061828
catalogNumber: 610618


  1. Salty Dog Blues
  2. Borrowed Love
  3. Earl's Breakdown
  4. Streamlined Cannonball
  5. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  6. Soldier's Joy
  7. In The Pines
  8. Doin' My Time
  9. Sittin' On Top Of The World
  10. Sally Gooding
  11. Foggy Mountain Rock
  12. You Are My Flower
  13. Bound In Jail All Night Long
  14. Black Mountain Blues
  15. Step It Up And Go
  16. Ballad Of Jed Clampett
  17. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  18. Lonesome Ruben

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Earl Scruggs   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Vocals
John Jorgenson   Clarinet,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals
John Gardner   Drums
Hoot Hester   Fiddle,Vocals
Rob Ickes   Dobro
Gary Scruggs   Bass,Vocals
Randy Scruggs   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jon Randall   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Earl Scruggs   Composer
Roy Acuff   Composer
Dwight Yoakam   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
John McEuen   Composer
Walter Vinson   Composer
Jimmie Skinner   Composer
Scott Billington   Art Direction
A.P. Carter   Composer
Gary Scruggs   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Randy Scruggs   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Eddie Stubbs   Liner Notes
Mark Thomas   Monitor Engineer
Jay Orr   Liner Notes
Wiley Morris   Composer
Zeke Morris   Composer
Senor McGuire   Cover Photo
Kevin McGinty   Engineer
Gladys Stacey   Composer
Lonnie Carter   Composer
Louise Certain   Composer
Traditional   Composer
David Schenk   Tray Photo
Paul Henning   Composer
Burkett Graves   Composer

Customer Reviews