The Town Hall Concerts, Vol. 8

The Town Hall Concerts, Vol. 8

by Eddie Condon


1 New & Used Starting at $4.00


The eighth double CD in this essential series has four more half-hour shows that were billed as The Eddie Condon Town Hall Concerts. Condon, who was always more important as an instigator than as a guitarist, was a perfect host for the program, not only offering witty and sometimes sarcastic commentary but designing the shows so all of the all-stars were properly featured, both individually and collectively. The eighth volume has the usual incredible roster: trumpeters Billy Butterfield, Bobby Hackett, Max Kaminsky and Wingy Manone, trombonists Tommy Dorsey, Benny Morton and Jack Teagarden, Sidney Bechet on soprano, baritonist Ernie Caceres, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell, pianists Dick Cary, Gene Schroeder and Jess Stacy, bassists Bob Casey, Jack Lesberg and Sid Weiss, drummers Johnny Blowers and George Wettling and vocalist Lee Wiley. As usual there are dozens of highlights from these spontaneous yet logical jam sessions, easily recommended to Dixieland and Chicago jazz fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/1994
Label: Jazzology
UPC: 0762247691624
catalogNumber: 1015

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie Condon   Primary Artist,Banjo,Guitar,Leader
Bobby Hackett   Cornet
Max Kaminsky   Trumpet
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Jack Teagarden   Trombone,Vocals
Lee Wiley   Vocals
Billy Butterfield   Trumpet
Dick Cary   Trumpet
Wingy Manone   Trumpet,Vocals
Benny Morton   Trombone
George Wettling   Drums
Sidney Bechet   Soprano Saxophone
Johnny Blowers   Drums
Ernie Caceres   Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Bob Casey   Bass
Tommy Dorsey   Trombone
Jack Lesberg   Bass
Jess Stacy   Piano
Sid Weiss   Bass
Fred Robbins   Announcer
Schroeder   Piano

Technical Credits

Jolson   Composer
Max Kaminsky   Composer
Dick Cary   Composer
Ned Miller   Composer
Gene Austin   Composer
Ben Bernie   Composer
Jack Bland   Director
Ernie Caceres   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Jimmy Hamilton   Corrections
Benny Krueger   Composer
Turner Layton   Composer
Harry Beasley Smith   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
Jess Stacy   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Ernest Anderson   Producer
George H. Buck   Producer
Bob Carlton   Composer
Bob Hilbert   Text
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Phil Boutelje   Composer
Sidney Mitchell   Composer
Francis Wheeler   Composer
Dick Winfree   Composer
Edna Alexander   Composer
Roy Bergere   Composer
James Henry Burris   Composer
Chester Conn   Composer
Lewis Gensler   Composer
Chris Smith   Composer
James Pierpont   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews