The Tonight Show Band, Vol. 1

The Tonight Show Band, Vol. 1

by Doc Severinsen & The Tonight Show BandDoc Severinsen & The Tonight Show Band


$16.44 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.44, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Tonight Show Band gained fame during Johnny Carson's tenure as host of the perennially popular late-night TV program. Not only did the band gain air time with its playing, but it was a foil for Carson's jokes. The role of collective straight man did not in any way hinder the ensemble from being an exciting champion of dynamic big-band swing. The chairs are filled with veterans of topflight big bands and studio work as well. Performers like John Audino, Bill Perkins, Gil Falco, and Conte Candoli anchor the band's sections while Ed Shaughnessy's relentless drums drive the outfit. And they are playing well-conceived charts by such arrangers as Bill Holman, Tommy Newsom, and Dick Lieb. Most of the tunes on this session are familiar big-band barnburners and feature the high-voltage trumpet of leader Doc Severinsen. While others get a few bars of soloing now and then, it's Severinsen's show all the way. There is a break in the fast-paced stuff with a lovely rendition "How Long Has This Been Going On" with romantic Harry James-like blowing (vibrato and all) by Severinsen. But it's the heart-stoppers like "One O'Clock Jump" and "Begin the Beguine" that dominate this session. All in all, this album captures disciplined, well-charted big-band music, and is recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/19/1993
Label: Amherst Records
UPC: 0051617331124
catalogNumber: 23311
Rank: 78145

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doc Severinsen & The Tonight Show Band   Primary Artist
Conte Candoli   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Pete Christlieb   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Bill Perkins   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Ed Shaughnessy   Drums,Snare Drums
Ross Tompkins   Piano
Tonight Show Band   Track Performer
Allen Vizzutti   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bob Bain   Guitar
Tommy Newsom   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
John Audino   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
John Bainbridge   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
John Bambridge   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Joel DiBartolo   Bass
Gilbert Falco   Trombone
Maurice Harris   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bruce Paulson   Trombone
Doc Severinsen   Trumpet,Conductor,Flugelhorn,Track Performer
Ernie Watts   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Peter Woodford   Guitar
Snooky Young   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Maurey Harris   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Donald Ashworth   Clarinet,Flute,Euphonium,Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Ernie Tack   Bass Trombone

Technical Credits

Bill Holman   Arranger
Jeff Tyzik   Producer
Allen Vizzutti   Producer
Tommy Newsom   Arranger
John Bambridge   Arranger
Mike Barone   Arranger
David Bennett   Composer
Mick Guzauski   Engineer
Dick Lieb   Arranger
Marty Symes   Composer
Chauncey Gray   Composer
Bert Lown   Composer
Bobby Smith   Composer
Brian D. McLaughlin   Art Direction
Frederick Hamm   Composer
Sid Robin   Composer

Customer Reviews