The Ties That Bind: The River Collection [CD/Blu-Ray]

The Ties That Bind: The River Collection [CD/Blu-Ray]

by Bruce SpringsteenBruce Springsteen

CD(with Blu-ray)

$125.69 $129.99 Save 3% Current price is $125.69, Original price is $129.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Imbedded within the double-disc running time of The River is a single-disc album that follows up on the themes and sound of Darkness on the Edge of Town -- wide-screen, midtempo rock and stories of the disillusionment of working-class life and the conflicts within families. In these songs, which include the title track, "Independence Day," and "Point Blank," Bruce Springsteen's world-view is just as dire as it had become on Darkness, but less judgmental. "Independence Day," for example, is a father-and-son ballad that has little of the anger of its hard rock counterpart on Darkness, "Adam Raised a Cain." Springsteen's heroes again seek to overcome their crushing troubles through defiance and by driving around, and though "The River" repeats the soured love theme of "Racing in the Street," he also posits romance as a possible escape, sometimes combining it with one of the other solutions, as on the eight-plus-minute "Drive All Night." But there is also another album lurking within The River, and it is a more lighthearted pop
ock collection of short, sometimes humorous songs like "Sherry Darling" and "I'm a Rocker." At times Springsteen combines elements of the two, as on "Out in the Street," perhaps the album's quintessential song, a catchy, uptempo number that sounds like something from the early '60s and echoes the theme of the Vogues' 1966 hit "Five O'Clock World." "Hungry Heart," which became Springsteen's first Top Ten hit, combines a rollicking musical track with a more sober lyrical theme that emphasizes longing over disappointment. But a better guide to Springsteen's development are the songs "Stolen Car" and the album-closing "Wreck on the Highway," gentle, moody ballads imbued with a sense of hopelessness that anticipate his next record, Nebraska. [An 83-track, six-CD set was released in 2015.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/04/2015
Label: Columbia Records
UPC: 0888751649422
catalogNumber: 516494
Rank: 80296


Disc 1

  1. The Ties That Bind
  2. Sherry Darling
  3. Jackson Cage
  4. Two Hearts
  5. Independence Day
  6. Hungry Heart
  7. Out in the Street
  8. Crush on You
  9. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
  10. I Wanna Marry You
  11. The River

Disc 2

  1. Point Blank
  2. Cadillac Ranch
  3. I'm a Rocker
  4. Fade Away
  5. Stolen Car
  6. Ramrod
  7. The Price You Pay
  8. Drive All Night
  9. Wreck on the Highway

Disc 3

  1. The Ties That Bind
  2. Cindy
  3. Hungry Heart
  4. Stolen Car
  5. Be True
  6. The River
  7. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
  8. The Price You Pay
  9. I Wanna Marry You
  10. Loose End

Disc 4

  1. Meet Me in the City
  2. The Man Who Got Away
  3. Little White Lies
  4. The Time That Never Was
  5. Night Fire
  6. Whitetown
  7. Chain Lightning
  8. Party Lights
  9. Paradise By The "C"
  10. Stray Bullet
  11. Mr. Outside
  12. Roulette
  13. Restless Nights
  14. Where the Bands Are
  15. Dollhouse
  16. Living on the Edge of the World
  17. Take 'em As They Come
  18. Ricky Wants a Man Of Her Own
  19. I Wanna Be With You
  20. Mary Lou
  21. Held Up Without a Gun
  22. From Small Things (Big Things One Day Come)

Disc 5

  1. The Ties That Bind

Disc 6

  1. Born to Run
  2. Prove It All Night
  3. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  4. Jackson Cage
  5. Two Hearts
  6. The Promised Land
  7. Out In The Street
  8. The River
  9. Badlands
  10. Thunder Road
  11. No Money Down
  12. Cadillac Ranch
  13. Hungry Heart
  14. Fire
  15. Sherry Darling
  16. I Wanna Marry You
  17. Crush on You
  18. Ramrod
  19. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
  20. Drive All Night
  21. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  22. I'm a Rocker
  23. Jungleland
  24. Detroit Medley
  25. Where the Bands Are
  26. Ramrod
  27. Cadillac Ranch
  28. Fire
  29. Crush On You
  30. Sherry Darling

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bruce Springsteen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Clarence Clemons   Percussion,Saxophone,Vocals
Roy Bittan   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Danny Federici   Organ,Keyboards
Garry Tallent   Bass,Bass Guitar
Max Weinberg   Drums
Kevin Buell   Guitar
Stevie Van Zandt   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Bruce Springsteen   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Barbara Carr   Executive Producer
Bob Clearmountain   Engineer
Neil Dorfsman   Engineer
Jon Landau   Producer,Executive Producer
George Travis   Executive Producer
Barry Rebo   Director,Producer
Mikal Gilmore   Liner Notes
Michelle Holme   Art Direction
Thom Zimny   Producer
Stevie Van Zandt   Producer
Zachary Russo   Producer
Dave Bett   Art Direction

Customer Reviews