The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

by Dianne Day

Hardcover(1st ed)

$18.40 $19.95 Save 8% Current price is $18.4, Original price is $19.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
28 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

Brave, resourceful, adventurous Fremont (née Caroline) Jones is a woman ahead of her time. Hungry for independence, she's traded in her conventional life in Boston for a career as a "type-writer" in turn-of-the-century San Francisco. But Fremont soon discovers that her clients aren't always what they appear to be, and that in doing her job she's transcribing her way into a wealth of mystery—and mortal danger....

Dashing lawyer Justin Cameron well-nigh sweeps Fremont Jones off her feet—and into a situation ripe with perilous intrigue. A client meets an untimely death that Fremant suspects is linked to the paper she typed for him, of which she can recall but one small fragment. And her attempts to disentangle reality and imagination in the gothic tales penned by Edgar Allan Partridge—whose demeanor is one of terror under the barest restraint—send her up the rocky California coast on a mission of discovery from which she may not return....

A riveting, atmospheric mix of intrigue and humor introduces a new investigator as cultivated as Sherlock Holmes and as spunky as Kinsey Millhone.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385475495
Publisher: The Doubleday Religious Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/01/1995
Series: Fremont Jones Series , #1
Edition description: 1st ed
Pages: 240

About the Author

Dianne Day spent her early years in the Mississippi Delta before moving to the San Francisco Bay Area. Books in her Fremont Jones mystery series include The Strange Files of Fremont Jones, which won the Macavity Award for Best First Novel, Fire and Fog, The Bohemian Murders, Emperor Norton’s Ghost, and Death Train to Boston. She died in 2013.

What People are Saying About This

Margaret Maron

"Fans of Elizabeth Peters or Anne Perry should love Dianne Day's new turn-of-the-century female sleuth."

Carolyn G. Hart

"Dianne Day provides a delightful heroine and a lively, twisty, intriguing mystery."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (A Fremont Jones Mystery) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
BCCJillster on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book and can't wait to read the next in the series. Set in 1905, the year before the earthquake, Fremont Jones leaves her Boston upbringing to become an independent businesswoman in SF. She's a delightful mix of new woman and naive 20-something. At one point she ventures into nighttime Chinatown, at another a Poe-like mansion. Nothing but fun for the reader. Is a fellow boarder a spy? Will her lawyer boyfriend be her lover or her enemy? And what of her 'aubergine cape'?BTW--for parents of young readers who might want to know--explicit sex scene, surprising for the time period.
bookwoman247 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This, the first in the Fremont Jones series, is a historical mystery set in San Francisco previous to the great earthquake of 1906.Fremont Jones is an independent young woman from Boston, who, in order to escape her intrefering step-mother, establlishes her own typing business in far-away San Francisco.When handsome lawyer Justin Cameron hires her, he causes her pulse to quicken and her head to whirl, creating a confusing mix of emotions.Eccentric writer Edgar Allen Partridge hires her to type a manuscript of stories as eerie as those written by his namesake, Edgar Allen Poe. After proclaiming the stories to be true, he vanishes without returning to collect his finished work.A third client is found murdered after hiring Fremont to type a sensitive document. The man's family turn to her seeking answers.Her search for E. A. Partridge and for the answers she hopes to find for the murdered man's family lead her to San Francisco's seedy, dangerous underworld, Will it also be there that she will find the answers to her own heart's dilemma?This was a fairly good mystery. I liked the main character, and the setting and plot were interesting. However interesting the plot was, though, it felt like it was too busy with too many threads. I found that rather distracting. For what it's worth, I also dislike the title. It sounds too much like a juvenile book to me, which it certainly is not.
spammie1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Haaaaaaaaaaaaated this book!
brainella on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a mystery series about a woman from Boston who moves to San Francisco in the early 1900's -- before the big earthquake. (Caroline) Fremont Jones is a woman ahead of her time; she wants to be independent and live her life her way. She moves away from her father and begins a new life by starting a typing business. Strange things start to happen and Fremont gets caught up in a mystery. The story is quite interesting and the characters are a lot of fun. Dianne Day nails the time period, perceptions and people for this series, which gets better and better with each book.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Set in the early 1900's in San Francisco, this tells the story of Freemont (nee Caroline) Jones who moves from Boston to be a Typewriter in San Francisco, trying to find a place in the world outside the constraints placed on women in her time. She lands a strange job transcribing what the author, Edgar Allan Partridge, describes as stories but seem to be very wierd and very disturbing, are there echoes of truth in the stories or are they just fiction? Also what does dashing lawyer Justin Cameron want from her?Interesting, a bit predictable but I enjoyed the ride.
sleahey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fans of historical fiction mysteries will enjoy this story of a spunky young woman at the turn of the 20th century who leaves Boston for San Francisco and opens her own typing business. She becomes embroiled in murder and romance, and the action moves along quite rapidly to a satisfying conclusion.
sgerbic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reviewed April 1998 I purchased this book because the author was local and wrote mysteries and because of her unusual name, Fremont. I really enjoyed this book and it's local setting. The author did a really nice job teaching about the Chinese who live in San Francisco. Oddly the author puts in a very graphic sex scene in the middle of the book, which wasn't really needed, maybe she was hoping to capture a different audience? She also uses the names Fremont, Mrs. O'Leary and Edgar Allen too freely almost as if she wants the reader to latch onto something familiar quickly. They mysteries are refreshing and new, and I enjoyed seeing San Francisco through the eyes of Fremont. I will purchase more of this series. I hope Fremont travels further South to Monterey and Pacific Grove to solve mysteries, these would be very entertaining to read. 16-1998
orangejulia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I adore this book. I just re read it last night and couldn't put it down (again). The book is set in the early 1900s in San Francisco. Our earstwhile heroine Fremont Jones has just moved to town to start a typewriting business. Stranger mysteries around the documents she is typing soon ensue. There are two mysteries ongoing throughout the book, and they're both neatly wrapped up. One plot line concerns the author of Gothic Horror short stories (like Poe) and you get the bonus of reading selections from them. Excellent quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago