The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal Series #2)

The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal Series #2)

by Jeffrey Brown

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes book two in the laugh-out-loud graphic novel series about Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy. Fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and The Terrible Two won’t want to miss it!
 
“Lucy & Andy are Stone Age rock stars! I loved this book!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series
 
Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy are back to their paleo pranks. This time, they have to put up with more than just each other—the cave is feeling awfully cramped since the humans moved in. They’re in the Ice Age, and legroom comes at a real premium!
 
Jeffrey Brown skillfully blends humor and history with paleontologist sections: Timeline of Key Discoveries, Ice Age Fact vs. Fiction, Silly Cavemen Myths, and more.
 
"A fast, funny read" –Kirkus Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

2017-04-17
Neanderthal siblings return for a blustery infoventure in the Ice Age.Lucy and Andy meet and welcome into their cave an extended, racially diverse family of humans. Andy is less than enthusiastic about the arrangement, but Lucy is glad to have Sasha, a little black girl, and the others to pal around with. Between hunts for food, the adults search for a nearby cave for the humans to move into. The kids play in the snow, do chores, visit a glacier, and visit the Neanderthal family's summer cave at the beach. Can the families outsmart cave bear Big Bob and appropriate his cave for the humans, or will they live together forever? Modern-day fictional commentators Pam (a white woman) and Eric (a black man) return as well to explain (usually with jokes) and expand on the actual science and discoveries behind the events in Lucy and Andy's comic-strip adventures. Science-y tidbits dot the narrative panels (usually followed by sarcastic one-liners), and the whole is followed by a museum list, a Q-and-A, and myth-busters about cavemen, all conveyed in a light tone. No further reading or works cited make this problematic as an informational source, but for the paleontologically inclined, it's a fast, funny read with likable kid characters. Captivated kids will be happy to see that Book 3 is on its way. (Graphic historical fiction. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780525643982
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 04/10/2018
Series: Lucy and Andy Neanderthal Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 120,817
Product dimensions: 6.13(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.56(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews