The Stephen Hough Piano Collection

The Stephen Hough Piano Collection

by Stephen HoughStephen Hough


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


An artist as versatile, virtuosic, and adventurous as Stephen Hough is hard to pin down, and this varied sampler is unlikely to define him, though it gives a a good impression of his many interests and rather flexible approach to piano music. Yet there is a scattershot quality to this compilation that may bother casual listeners who are less interested in Hough's numerous recording projects, but more concerned with the music at hand. With the exception of two pieces previously unreleased -- "Pining for the Spring Breeze" by Deng Yu-Hsien, and Hough's own composition, "Suite Osmanthus" -- these tracks represent his 11 solo albums for Hyperion, and provide too much variety to absorb comfortably. Skipping around may be the best solution, or taking in a few tracks at a time, because Hough has crammed in so much music from all over the stylistic map that familiar Romantic works, Classical excerpts, soft Impressionist reveries, long virtuoso showpieces, and concentrated modernist studies sit cheek by jowl, without any logic or apparent plan. Hough's playing is always clean and appealing, and the sound quality is fine throughout; but because this album is so densely packed and runs to nearly 80 minutes in duration, it is not recommended to be heard in one sitting.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2005
Label: Hyperion Uk
UPC: 0034571100319
catalogNumber: 10031
Rank: 139585


  1. Ballade for piano No. 3 in A flat major, Op. 47, CT. 4
  2. Paisajes, for piano: A fuente y la campana, Paisajes No. 1

    1. A fuente y la campana, Paisajes No. 1
  3. Fantasia (Variations), for piano
  4. Pining for the Spring Breeze
  5. Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5: Scherzo

    1. Scherzo
  6. Berceuse, for piano, Op. 83
  7. Piano Sonata No. 10 in C major (fragment), D. 613: Finale

    1. Finale
  8. Piano Sonata No. 5 in F sharp minor, Op. 81: Vivace

    1. Vivace
  9. The Swan Lake, ballet, Op. 20: Pas de quatre

    1. Pas de quatre
  10. Poems (2) in Homage to Fauré: Chanson d'automne

    1. Chanson d'automne
  11. Polonaise, for piano No.2 in E major, S. 223/2 (LW A171/2)
  12. Suite Osmanthus, for piano

    1. Prelude (after Mompou) Andante malinconio
    2. The Musical Chocolate Box. Senza tempo - Allegretto innocente
    3. Changes. Andante intimo
    4. Elegie enigmatique. Allegretto mesto
    5. Etude Da Capo. Allegro brillante
    6. Nocturne - Cavatina. Tempo rubato
  13. Chorals (3), for organ, M. 38-40: Troisième Choral, M40

    1. Troisième Choral, M40

Album Credits

Customer Reviews