B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Sound of the Smiths

The Sound of the Smiths

by The Smiths The Smiths


$12.99 $18.99 Save 32% Current price is $12.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 32%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


The definitive independent British band of the 1980s, The Smiths were driven by the collaboration between lead singer and lyricist Morrissey and lead guitarist and co-songwriter Johnny Marr. The Sound of the Smiths was completed with their full cooperation -- Morrissey provided the title, Marr personally supervised the mastering and they both participated in the track selection. Featuring all of their memorable singles, it's the most comprehensive single-disc anthology to date of their extraordinary body of work. The Sound of the Smiths opens with the group's debut Rough Trade 7-inch "Hand In Glove" and closes with "Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me," issued after they disbanded. In between are their matchless run of singles from 1983-1987, including the definitive hits "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now," “How Soon Is Now,” "Panic," “This Charming Man” and "Girlfriend in a Coma." The collection also reinstates singles that were scheduled but eventually unreleased in that form ("Still Ill" and "You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby") plus European-only singles ("Barbarism Begins At Home" and "The Headmaster Ritual").

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2008
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227988906
catalogNumber: 516015
Rank: 1708


  1. Hand in Glove
  2. This Charming Man
  3. What Difference Does It Make?
  4. Still Ill
  5. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  6. William, It Was Really Nothing
  7. How Soon Is Now?
  8. Nowhere Fast
  9. Shakespeare's Sister
  10. Barbarism Begins at Home
  11. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
  12. The Headmaster Ritual
  13. The Boy with the Thorn in His Side
  14. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  15. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
  16. Panic
  17. Ask
  18. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
  19. Shoplifters of the World Unite
  20. Sheila Take a Bow
  21. Girlfriend in a Coma
  22. I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
  23. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me

Album Credits

Customer Reviews