The Sky Is Crying

The Sky Is Crying

by Elmore JamesElmore James


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Even if you’ve never heard Elmore James, you know his music. His passionate vocals and guitar work (particularly his signature slide guitar lick for “Dust My Broom”) virtually provided the blueprint for the modern blues rock movement on both sides of the Atlantic. James’s gripping style is clearly echoed in the sounds of the Rolling Stones, the Yardbirds, the Allman Brothers, and Eric Clapton, to name a mere handful. For anyone not familiar with the source material, James’s work can be revelatory. This excellent set collects his most memorable recordings, including “I Can’t Hold Out, “Done Somebody Wrong,” “Shake Your Moneymaker,” and, of course, “Dust My Broom.” As can be heard, James didn’t just suggest the sound of rock, he rocked out himself.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2007
Label: Camden International
UPC: 0743215237624
catalogNumber: 152376
Rank: 51145


  1. Sky Is Crying
  2. Dust My Broom
  3. Fine Little Mama
  4. Can't Stop Loving You
  5. Done Somebody Wrong
  6. Rollin & Tumblin
  7. I Need You Baby
  8. Something Inside Me
  9. I'm Worried
  10. Early One Morning
  11. She Done Moved
  12. Strange Angel
  13. Anna Lee
  14. Stranger Blues
  15. Look on Yonder Wall
  16. Standing at the Crossroads
  17. Baby Please Set a Date
  18. Shake Your Money Maker
  19. My Bleeding Heart
  20. One Way Out
  21. Make My Dream Come True
  22. Mean Mistreatin Mama

Album Credits

Customer Reviews