The Secret Science of Magic

The Secret Science of Magic

by Melissa Keil

Hardcover

$16.16 $17.95 Save 10% Current price is $16.16, Original price is $17.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27

Overview

From award-winning author Melissa Keil comes this heartwarming tale of unconventional romance, perfect timing, and finding your own magic.
Meet Sophia: former child prodigy and 17-year-old math mastermind. She's been having panic attacks since she learned that after high school, former prodigies either cure cancer or go crazy. It's a lot of pressure. So Sophia doesn't have the patience for games right now. She especially doesn't have the patience to figure out why all these mysterious playing cards keep turning up inside her textbooks. Meet Joshua: highly intelligent, cheerfully unambitious, and an amateur magician. He's Sophia’s classmate, and he's admired her for as long as he can remember. He thinks the time is perfect to tell Sophia how he feels. He doesn't know how wrong he is …
This long-awaited follow-up from the author of Life in Outer Space is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan, and anyone who believes in making friends with the freaks.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781682630143
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication date: 04/01/2018
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,090,362
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 12 - 18 Years

About the Author

Melissa Keil, born and raised in Melbourne, Australia, studied cinema and anthropology and has spent time as a high school teacher, Middle-Eastern tour guide, waitress, and IT help-desk person. She now works as a children’s book editor, and spends her free time watching YouTube and geek TV.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Secret Science of Magic 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
YoungMensanBookParade More than 1 year ago
The "Secret Science of Magic" is a fictional romance novel centered around the teenage love story of Sophia, a math prodigy, and Joshua, a talented magician. Sophia has never fit in at school. She is a master at solving math equations but lacks all social skills. No matter how hard she tries, she struggles to make friends and communicate with others. Lately, Sophia has become concerned about her future. High school is coming to an end and she has no idea where she wants to go for college or what career path she wants to pursue. To make matters worse, her best (and only) friend, Elise, is seemingly becoming more and more distant. Everything Sophia does seems to increase the tension between them. Just when Sophia thinks she's reached her limit, she starts receiving mysterious love notes from a secret admirer. Sophia begins to grow frustrated; she doesn't have time for these games. Who could be the perpetrator of such notes? Would she be able to resolve the tension between her and Elise AND figure out the path of her future? These questions might be ones that even the intellectual Sophia won't be able to solve. On the other hand, ever since he was little, Joshua has had a crush on Sophia. But the chances of a brainiac like Sophia falling in love with a trickster like him is slim to none. Determined to take his chances, Joshua plays all his cards as he attempts to win Sophia's heart. Will the seemingly emotionless Sophia break through her stoic barrier and fall for the hopeful Joshua, or will she leave him broken-hearted? Follow along with the characters as they overcome their fears and weaknesses to find out the "Secret Science of Magic". I personally did not like this book since the plot dragged and I felt the book had no sense of direction. The female character in the story, Sophia, is too unrealistic and her personality slows the storyline. In my opinion, she doesn't bring anything to the story besides being Joshua's love interest. Throughout the story, the reader is forced to listen to her ramble about facts, math and statistics which made her character boring and the book very dull. I liked Joshua's character; though the author didn't write enough about him. This book is suitable for anyone over the age of ten. There aren't any mature themes, but the author uses elevated language throughout. Review by Roksanna K, age 14, Broward County Mensa