The Romantic Violin

The Romantic Violin

by Joshua BellJoshua Bell


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


A compilation of selections drawn from previously released recordings, The Romantic Violin (not to be confused with Romance of the Violin on Sony) celebrates Joshua Bell's ten-year stint with Decca, offering a "greatest hits" collection focusing on the photogenic virtuoso's early career. Bell's plush tone and expressive touch animate the slow movements from concertos by Bruch, Barber, Brahms, and Tchaikovsky, while violin favorites such as Paganini's Cantabile, Kreisler's Romance, and Massenet's Thaïs "Méditation" glow with Bell's soulful lyricism. More enlivening selections reveal his sparkling technique in showstoppers like the Rondo from Lalo's Symphonie Espagnole and a Brahms Hungarian Dance. With accompaniment provided by such classical luminaries as Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Neville Marriner, and Vladimir Ashkenazy, the album presents a fine summary of the budding career of a great violinist and also serves as an enjoyable introduction to the highpoints of the Romantic violin repertoire, one that is likely to tempt classical music newcomers to seek out complete recordings of the core works excerpted here.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/13/2004
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947561750
catalogNumber: 000278302
Rank: 80321


  1. Hungarian Dance for piano, 4 hands, in G minor, WoO 1/1
  2. Violin Concerto No.1, in G minor, Op. 26: 2. Adagio
  3. Cantabile, for violin & piano (or guitar) in D major, (MS 109)
  4. Violin Concerto, Op. 14: 2. Andante
  5. Schön Rosmarin for violin & piano
  6. Tambourin Chinois for violin & piano, Op 3
  7. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77: 2. Adagio
  8. Sonata for violin & piano in A major, M. 8: 1. Allegretto ben moderato
  9. Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22: 2. Romance
  10. Liebesfreud "Love's Joy" for violin & piano
  11. Liebesleid "Love's Sorrow" for violin & piano
  12. Violin Concerto, for violin & orchestra (or violin & piano) in D major, Op. 35: 2. Canzonetta (Andante)
  13. Méditation, violin & orchestra version and various arrangements (from opera "Thäis")
  14. Symphonie espagnole, for violin and orchestra in D minor, Op. 21: 5. Rondo (Allegro)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews