The Return

The Return

by Ruben StuddardRuben Studdard


$16.02 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $16.02, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 17


During American Idol's second season, Ruben Studdard became an early front-runner, thanks to his Luther Vandross-reminiscent vocals and jovial personality. Even brutally honest judge Simon Cowell couldn't help but cheer for Studdard -- dubbed by fans the Velvet Teddy Bear. Unfortunately, the Alabama native's win and his debut disc, Soulful, were eclipsed by the geeky, Barry Manilow-esque Season 2 runner-up, Clay Aiken. And whereas Aiken went on to multi-platinum success, a network television special, and an arena tour, Studdard settled for modest record sales and a chitlin' circuit tour of colleges and small venues. So there's a lot riding on The Return, Studdard's third disc, and he largely succeeds in making the comeback his career sorely needed. The single "Change Me" is a tasty slice of contemporary soul on which Studdard chastises his lady for being overly critical: "You used to like your big ole' teddy bear / You used to let me get it anywhere." And on the mid-tempo groove "What the Business Is," the overweight lover -- who recently shed a few pounds -- hits a Ronald Isley-worthy falsetto amid the track's bass-heavy beats. Elsewhere, the songs range from the signature ballad "Our Story" to the requisite Mack Daddy track, "Get U Loose." The disc ends on a high note with a remake of the late Vandross's "If Only for One Night." Welcome back, Ruben.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2006
Label: J-Records
UPC: 0828767896120
catalogNumber: 78961
Rank: 77603


  1. The Return (Of the Velvet Teddy Bear)
  2. Change Me
  3. Make Ya Feel Beautiful
  4. Get U Loose
  5. Our Story
  6. One Side
  7. What tha Business Is
  8. Rather Just Not Know
  9. Ain't No Party
  10. Listen to Ya Heart
  11. I'm Not Happy
  12. To Da Crib
  13. Blow Ya Mind
  14. If Only for One Night

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ruben Studdard   Primary Artist,Vocals
Mocha   Background Vocals
Tank   Background Vocals
Daren Barker King   Guitar
Underdogs   Musician
Steve Russell   Background Vocals,Musician

Technical Credits

Brenda Russell   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Mark Green   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
James Poyser   Composer,Producer
Henry Panion   Producer,String Arrangements,String Conductor
Damon Thomas   Composer
Francesco Romano   Composer
James Bevelle   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
James Scheffer   Composer
Ralph Cacciurri   Engineer
Harvey Mason   Composer
Antoine "Yella" Carraby   Composer
Ann Mincieli   Engineer
Happy Perez   Producer,Instrumentation
Mike Tocci   Engineer
Kevin Cates   Composer,Producer
Kamel Abdo   Engineer
Jason Boyd   Composer,Producer
Wayne Allison   Engineer
Harold Lilly   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Conrad Golding   Engineer
Ruben Studdard   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Anita Marisa Boriboon   Art Direction
Jim Jonsin   Producer
Matthew "Vudu" McAllister   Composer
Chris Spilfogel   Engineer
Chris LeBeau   Photo Production
Antonio Dixon   Composer
Alvin Garrett   Producer
Shaffer Smith   Composer
Ne-Yo   Vocal Producer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer
Daniel Laporte   Engineer
Bre Scullark   Cover Model
Luke Boyd   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
Michael Stuckey   Producer
Underdogs   Producer
Scott Storch   Composer,Producer
Steve Russell   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews