The Return of Sound System Scratch: More Lee Perry Dub Plate Mixes & Rarities: 1973 to 1979

The Return of Sound System Scratch: More Lee Perry Dub Plate Mixes & Rarities: 1973 to 1979

by Lee "Scratch" Perry & the UpsettersLee "Scratch" Perry & the Upsetters


View All Available Formats & Editions


A sequel that arguably tops its predecessor, The Return of Sound System Scratch collects dub plates and other rare material from producer Lee "Scratch" Perry's legendary Black Ark Studios, a place where dub and dank roots reggae flourished during the '70s. This is no small feat in 2011, as the Black Ark's history is serpentine and you can already pile the "Scratch" comps to the ceiling, but many of those competing releases are bogus or stretch the truth, a problem you won't run into here. From the seemingly underwater dub of Bob Marley's "Natural Mystic" called "Natural Dub" to the deep space take on Scratch's beloved "Enter the Dragon," now titled "Enter the Upsetter," this is the real deal, sometimes with the added benefit of incredibly long fades or pre-song studio chatter. Without the tightness of his most famous dubs, the set might meander a bit too much for the newcomer, but those who don't mind mind-expanding soundtracks that develop slowly could find this the perfect gateway drug. Scratch aficionados, on the other hand, can't call themselves so without a copy. When you add great liner notes from Pete Holdsworth plus a valiant attempt to credit the musicians, you've got one of the best Perry rarities sets to date.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/03/2011
Label: Pressure Sounds
UPC: 0689492106126
catalogNumber: 70

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lee "Scratch" Perry & the Upsetters   Primary Artist
Boris Gardiner   Bass
Pamela Reed   Background Vocals
Lloyd "Tinleg" Adams   Drums
Theophilus Beckford   Piano
Geoffrey Chung   Guitar
Basil "Benbow" Creary   Drums
Glen DaCosta   Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis   Trumpet
Egbert Evans   Flute
Willie Lindo   Guitar
David Madden   Trumpet
Herman Marquis   Alto Saxophone
Candy McKenzie   Background Vocals
Augustus Pablo   Melodica
Lee "Scratch" Perry   Percussion
Ernest Ranglin   Guitar
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Noel "Scully" Simms   Percussion
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Keith Sterling   Piano
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Ranny "Bop" Williams   Rhythm Guitar
Aura Lewis   Background Vocals
Richard "Dirty Harry" Hall   Tenor Saxophone
Robert "Billy" Johnson   Rhythm Guitar
Winston Brubeck Wright   Organ
Vincent Don D Junior Gordon   Trombone
Mikey "Boo" Richards   Drums
Lowell "Sly" Dunbar   Drums
Robert "Robbie" Lyn   Organ

Technical Credits

David Blackman   Engineer
Lee "Scratch" Perry   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Pete Holdsworth   Liner Notes
Olly Walker   Artwork

Customer Reviews