The Return of Jazz Club

The Return of Jazz Club


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Back in the '80s, Paul Murphy developed a cult following as the U.K. DJ who fueled the parties at the WAG Club's Jazz Room. By drawing heavily on the soul-jazz and hard bop records of the '50s and '60s, he developed something of an underground dance craze, one that ran parallel to Northern soul and one that got big enough to attract patrons as prominent as Jerry Dammers of the Specials. A record called The Jazz Club presented highlights from these swinging parties and Murphy continued to DJ outside of the WAG Club, but the trend faded away by the early '90s and, along with it, so did Murphy. Many years later, producer Dean Rudland eventually reconnected with Murphy via Facebook, a rekindling that led to this Ace compilation from 2014. The Return of Jazz Club: Dancefloor Classics from the Original Jazz Dance DJ is a 15-track collection culled from the Prestige and Riverside vaults, emphasizing the same kind of swinging, danceable jazz Murphy spun during the '80s. There are recognizable names, including several not normally associated with dance -- Thelonious Monk, Red Garland, and Sonny Rollins commonly aren't thought of as groove mongers -- but Murphy finds sides with a nice spring in the beat, then threads in a bunch of sprightly, stylish soul-jazz (Freddie McCoy's "Spider Man," Kenny Burrell & Jack McDuff's "Grease Monkey"), while excavating a few cuts that themselves were throwbacks to a swing era (Bennie Green's "Hiyo Silver"). There are familiar names, sometimes represented by fairly well-known recordings (Mose Allison's "Parchman Farm" is one of his signatures), sometimes showcased with something a little more obscure, but this disc isn't about rarities nor is it an introduction to a style: it's all about the beat, it's all about danceable jazz. It's meant to be a party and it is one.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667527521
catalogNumber: 1161681
Rank: 158156

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Barretto   Conga
Mose Allison   Piano
Ray Bryant   Piano
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Arnett Cobb   Tenor Saxophone
Art Farmer   Trumpet
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Red Garland   Piano
Barry Harris   Piano
Eddie Jefferson   Vocals
Bill Jennings   Guitar
Quincy Jones   Piano
Johnny Lytle   Vibes
James Moody   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Max Roach   Drums
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Art Taylor   Drums
Doug Watkins   Bass
Charlie Shavers   Trumpet
Dave Burns   Trumpet
Monk Montgomery   Bass
Seldon Powell   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Hal Singer   Tenor Saxophone
Candido   Conga
Joe Dukes   Drums
Freddie McCoy   Vibes
Willie Rodriguez   Percussion,Drums
Bob Cranshaw   Bass
George Duvivier   Bass
Art Blakey   Drums
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Paul Chambers   Bass
Bill Elliot   Drums
Oscar Estelle   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Addison Farmer   Bass
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Bennie Green   Trombone,Vocals
Peppy Hinnant   Drums
Osie Johnson   Drums
Sonny Johnson   Drums
Rudy Lawless   Drums
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Earl May   Bass
Jack McDuff   Organ
Thelonious Monk   Piano
Cliff Smalls   Piano
Charlie Smith   Drums
Clifford Solomon   Tenor Saxophone
Nick Stabulas   Drums
Billy Taylor   Piano
Harold Vick   Tenor Saxophone
Milton Harris   Organ
Charles Wilson   Piano
Steve Davis   Bass
Bill English   Drums
Brother Jack McDuff   Organ
Willis Jackson   Tenor Saxophone
Gerry Mapp   Bass

Technical Credits

Mose Allison   Composer
Art Farmer   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Benny Goodman   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Quincy Jones   Arranger,Composer
Johnny Lytle   Composer
Sonny Rollins   Composer
Horace Silver   Composer
Hal Singer   Composer
Freddie McCoy   Composer
Chano Pozo   Composer
George Duvivier   Composer
Mario Bauzá   Composer
Walter Fuller   Composer
Bennie Green   Composer
Osie Johnson   Composer
Jack McDuff   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Eli Robinson   Composer
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes,Memorabilia
Grace Sampson   Composer
George Woodlen   Composer
Willis Jackson   Composer
Paul Murphy   Memorabilia,Introduction

Customer Reviews