The Real Thing

The Real Thing

by Vanessa WilliamsVanessa Williams


$12.33 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.33, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 15


On The Real Thing, her sixth studio album (not counting two Christmas releases), Vanessa Williams switches from the '70s soul covers that made up 2005's Everlasting Love to a mix of adult contemporary originals and faithful interpretations. While Rob Mathes produced the entirety of the previous set, the labor here is divided between him and Rex Rideout (Boney James, Will Downing), as well as Keith Thomas and Babyface, both of whom go way back with Williams. With four people sharing the producer's chair, the whole album nonetheless carries a relaxed, serene feel, even when it is at its most active and spirited. The highlights tend to come with the Latin material -- including the title track, written by Stevie Wonder for Sergio Mendes, and "If There Were No Song," switching between a lush ballad and splashes of percussion and horns -- which Williams pulls off with natural ease. It's not likely to raise anyone's body temperature, but it's too welcoming to ignore.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2009
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072308169
catalogNumber: 30816
Rank: 82773


  1. Breathless
  2. Hello Like Before
  3. Loving You
  4. Just Friends
  5. The Real Thing
  6. Lazy Afternoon
  7. Close to You
  8. I Fell In
  9. October Sky
  10. Come on Strong
  11. If There Were No Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vanessa Williams   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Babyface   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Pete Christlieb   Tenor Saxophone
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master
Eric Darken   Percussion
Keith Thomas   Piano,fender rhodes
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
Elena Barere   Violin,String Quartet
Kimberly Brewer   Background Vocals
Jorge Calandrelli   Conductor
Darius Campo   Violin
Dave Carpenter   Bass
Brian Dembow   Viola
Stephen Erdody   Cello,Celli
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Mike Haynes   Trumpet,Soloist
Dan Higgins   Alto Saxophone
Alan Kaplan   Trombone
Roland Kato   Viola
Armen Ksadjikian   Cello,Celli
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Michael Lang   Piano,fender rhodes
Rob Lewis   Piano
Richard Locker   Cello,String Quartet
Rob Mathes   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Conductor,fender rhodes
Ozzie Melendez   Trombone
Robin Olson   Violin
Dean Parks   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Classical Guitar
Joel Peskin   Baritone Saxophone
Greg Phillinganes   Piano
Katia Popov   Violin
Rex Rideout   Keyboards
Anatoly Rosinsky   Violin
Garrett Smith   Horn
Michael White   Percussion
Margaret Wooten   Violin
Gregg Field   Drums
Gayle Levant   Harp
Christina Soule   Cello,Celli
Raul Agraz   Trumpet
Ricky Gonzalez   Piano,Keyboards
Katherine LiVolsi Stern   Violin
Luisito Quintero   Percussion
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Ethan Farmer   Bass
Johana Krejci   Violin
Michael Ripoll   Acoustic Guitar,Soloist
Carlos Henríquez   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Irina Voloshina   Viola
Roberto Cani   Violin
Trevor Handy   Cello,Celli
Abe Laboriel   Drums
Derrek Phillips   Drums
Bill Airey Smith   Horn Engineer
Dave Walther   Viola
Alyssa Park   Violin
Becky Bunnell   Violin
Lauren Evans   Background Vocals
Raymond Kobler   Violin
Agape Jerry   Guitar
Jonathan Crone   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Raymond "Ez" Monteiro   Horn
Miguel Gandelman   Horn
Katherine Livolsi   Violin,String Quartet
Javier Colon   Vocals
Victoria Miskolczy   Viola
Phillip Levy   Violin
Vincent Lionti   Viola,String Quartet
Movement Orchestra Horns   Horn
Nicholas Lane   Conductor

Technical Credits

Babyface   drum programming,Audio Production,Composer,Producer
Bill Withers   Composer
Tom Scott   Arranger,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Evan Rogers   Composer
Keith Thomas   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Audio Production
Jill Dell'Abate   String Contractor
John Burk   Executive Producer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Jorge Calandrelli   Arranger,String Arrangements,String Conductor
John Collins   Composer
Darrell Crooks   Arranger
Phil Galdston   Composer
Bebel Gilberto   Composer
John Latouche   Composer
Rob Lewis   Arranger
Rob Mathes   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Jerome Moross   Composer
Rex Rideout   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Guy Sigsworth   Composer
Joe Soldo   String Contractor
Carl Sturken   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Wayne Warnecke   Engineer
Bill Whittington   Engineer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Taj Jackson   Composer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Ricky Gonzalez   Programming
Paul Boutin   Engineer
Seth Presant   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Lauren Evans   Composer
Sheléa Frazier   Composer
Alex Venguer   Engineer
Jonathan Crone   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Nicholas Lane   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Javier Colon   Composer,Duet
Nicholas Lane   Arranger
Stephanie Lewis   Composer

Customer Reviews