The Real Folk Blues

The Real Folk Blues

by Sonny Boy Williamson [II]


View All Available Formats & Editions
2 New & Used Starting at $3.89


Part of Chess' long line of introductory blues compilations, Sonny Boy Williamson's Real Folk Blues keeps up the high standard with another solid batch of classic Chicago blues. Mostly taken from his last years in the first half of the '60s, the 12 cuts here represent some of the best of Williamson's juke joint and dancefloor-friendly mix. Helping out this fine harp player are such Chicago royalty as Willie Dixon, Robert Lockwood Jr., Fred Below, and Otis Spann. Also available as a two-fer with his More Real Folk Blues LP.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Mca
UPC: 0076732927229
catalogNumber: 9272


  1. One Way Out
  2. Too Young to Die
  3. Trust My Baby
  4. Checkin' up on My Baby
  5. Sad to Be Alone
  6. Got to Move
  7. Bring It on Home
  8. Down Child
  9. Peach Tree
  10. Dissatisfied
  11. That's All I Want
  12. Too Old to Think

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Vocals
Willie Dixon   Bass,Vocals
Matt "Guitar" Murphy   Guitar
Robert Lockwood   Guitar
Fred Below   Drums
Duncan   Drums
Lafayette Leake   Piano
Rice Miller   Vocals
Eddie King Milton   Guitar
Odie Payne   Drums
Milton Rector   Electric Bass
Otis Spann   Piano
Luther Tucker   Bass,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Liner Notes
Marshall Chess   Producer
Chris Morris   Liner Notes
Don Bronstein   Cover Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews