The Real Folk Blues/More Real Folk Blues

The Real Folk Blues/More Real Folk Blues

by Sonny Boy Williamson [II]


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


Sonny Boy Williamson may have had the misfortune of dying in 1965, just as the world of rock 'n' roll was coming to appreciate his many gifts, but the great singer, harmonica player, and composer had already produced a slew of blues masterpieces that musicians are still drawing inspiration from. Many of the best can be found on this excellent set which brings together two iconic releases from the 1960s. As with other Chicago blues giants, such as Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf, Wiliamson’s roots were in the Deep South, and he never lost that rural sound, even after he went electric in the big city. You can hear that Mississippi drawl and rural harp tone on such gritty performances as “One Way Out,” “Help Me,” "Bye Bye Bird,” “Nine Below Zero,” and “Down Child.” Williamson gets support from the cream of Chicago blues players, including bassist Willie Dixon, guitarists Buddy Guy and Matt Murphy, and pianist Lafayette Leake.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2002
Label: Chess
UPC: 0008811282325
catalogNumber: 112823
Rank: 34665

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Willie Dixon   Bass,Vocals
Buddy Guy   Guitar
Matt "Guitar" Murphy   Guitar
Robert Lockwood   Guitar
Fred Below   Drums
Duncan   Drums
Jarrett Gibson   Tenor Saxophone
Donald Hankins   Baritone Saxophone
Clifton James   Drums
Lafayette Leake   Organ,Piano
Jack Meyers   Bass
Odie Payne   Drums
Milton Rector   Bass,Electric Bass
Otis Spann   Piano
Luther Tucker   Guitar
Billy "The Kid" Emerson   Organ

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Leonard Chess   Producer
Marshall Chess   Original Album Producer
Phil Chess   Producer
Mike Fink   Reissue Design
Elmore James   Composer
Andy McKaie   Reissue Producer
Marshall Sehorn   Composer
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Composer
Paul Williams   Liner Notes
Don Bronstein   Original Cover Artwork
Beth Stempel   Reissue Production Coordination
Mark Humphrey   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews