The Priory of the Orange Tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree

by Samantha Shannon

Hardcover

$27.97 $32.00 Save 13% Current price is $27.97, Original price is $32. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Overview

From the internationally bestselling author of The Bone Season, "an epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781635570298
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 02/26/2019
Pages: 848
Sales rank: 3,581
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.40(h) x 2.50(d)

About the Author

Samantha Shannon studied English Language and Literature at St. Anne's College, Oxford. The Bone Season, the first in a seven-book series, was a New York Times bestseller and the inaugural Today Book Club selection. The Mime Order followed in 2015 and The Song Rising in 2017. Her work has been translated into twenty-six languages. She lives in London.

@say_shannon www.theboneseason.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Priory of the Orange Tree 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Great storyline. Definitely unique and tastefully mature .
Anonymous 13 days ago
Would recommend to friends.
PollyBennett 10 months ago
An epic fantasy. Incredible.
Anonymous 10 months ago
awesome+book+and+story
voraciousreaderVT 10 months ago
What a great read! Actually hope she writes more in this world. there are certainly more stories here. Loved it!
Selena 12 months ago
I have read and heard so much about this book. An incredible first look at a book sure to win an award. An epic fantacy!
madamepincers More than 1 year ago
Read the rest of this review at www.madamepincers.com The Priory of the Orange Tree has been one of my favourite reads of the year thus far! The book *looks* super imposing so I put off picking it up for a few weeks and then ended up absolutely devouring it over the course of three days! It has everything one could possibly want-- strong character arcs, religious zealots, cultural clashes, magic, DRAGONS (which, Clan Miduchi will have you know, are NOT the same as wyrms) and writing that literally transports you elsewhere. The premise of The Priory of the Orange Tree is a bit hard to describe because it tracks the perspectives of multiple characters from East and West, but essentially: Ead has been a transplant at a foreign court and is meant to protect Queen Sabran, who is the current ruler of the Virtudom and claims descent from the supposed defeater of the Nameless One (a big scary fire-breathing wyrm). She protects the queen using forbidden magic, which comes from her training as a mage in the Priory of the Orange Tree. In the West, a girl training as a dragon rider is trying to overcome her lack of pedigree in a fiercely competitive struggle to be named as one of the warriors in the most prestitious dragon rider clan of all time, the Miduchi. There are two other POVs that come from less major characters that sketch in some of the gaps around the world, but the book basically threads together disparate pieces of heritage, us vs them mentality, religious fanaticism, developing romantic interests, and the history of three magical trees and women they made powerful into one epic, lush fantasy with world-building for days. What I Loved:- Ead was an incredibly interesting character. Her ambition, thoughtfulness, and protective nature make her one of the fiercest characters I've ever read without the typical sass and aggression that we might see in one of those characters. She doesn't have a problem speaking her mind, but she isn't hot-headed or explosive. - The world building was just.... intensely lush. It was so richly detailed, and while I spent a lot of time in the beginning having to double check where I was, the chapter headings with "East" and "West" simplified a lot for me (which is saying something because I am TERRIBLE with geography). - Dragons and wyrms. Just... dragons and wyrms.- The kind of ongoing commentary on historical manipulation and the lies our ancestors tell us was really incredible and I think very, very fitting when we think about history today. (This is just a little nugget that really made an impression on me, even if it wasn't something we were beaten over the head with.)- The descriptions of scenery. WHOOOSH. This book was descriptive AF without clogging up the pages with unnecessary prose. - The backstory was so well done and so clever. There were so many amazing elements of the story-- three trees, the stars and the earth, and so on. I still find myself daydreaming about the intricacy of everything Samantha strung together. LOVE. What I Liked:- It was immersive, rather than full of info-dumps, which is great. It does have its drawbacks, because there was stuff I wanted more information on, but stuff generally came together neatly.- The pacing was very well done and kept me engaged in almost all of the storylines at once, though sometimes I was impatient to pop back to another storyline I liked more. What I Didn't Like...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What+a+wonderful+novel%21++Intricate%2C+richly+detailed%2C+told+from+multiple+points-of-view+-+really+a+pleasure+to+read%21++I+have+to+find+more+by+this+author%3B+recommended%21
taramichelle More than 1 year ago
The Priory of the Orange Tree is such an incredible book, Samantha Shannon has created something truly special with this novel. I finished Priory about a week ago and I'm still in awe. This high fantasy epic is one of my favorite books I've ever read, everything was incredible. From the characters to the setting to the politics to the friendships to the romance, Shannon absolutely nailed it. It took me two weeks to read but I looked forward to picking it up every single day. The world-building was so detailed and well-thought out. Plus there are dragons, which just is the icing on the perfectly written cake. If you’re a fantasy fan, this is one to definitely not miss. Even though this one is a standalone and everything was wrapped up, I‘m hoping that Samantha Shannon writes more in this world because I love it so much. *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Scarls17 More than 1 year ago
This books is epic! Yes, it’s long, but the story is so lush and the word building is so top notch that will be glad for every single one of the pages. The story follows four main characters, but there are wonderful side characters, as well. And dragons!!!! Talking dragons! So good.
Anonymous 8 months ago
With+a+vast+array+of+characters%2C+this+exciting+adventure+highlights+what+you+can+accomplish+if+you+believe+in+yourself+and+learn+that+just+because+someone+is+different+does+not+mean+that+they+do+not+desire+the+same+things+you+desire.++Together+if+you+can+get+past+your+differences%2C+you+might+just+change+the+world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing 21% is a stupid review