The Prelude Implicit

The Prelude Implicit

by KansasKansas

CD(Bonus Tracks / Special Edition / Digi-Pak)

$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The 15th studio long-player from the progressive rock/AOR legends -- and first collection of new material in 16 years -- The Prelude Implicit is the first Kansas album to feature new vocalist and keyboardist Ronnie Platt, who replaced founder Steve Walsh after the former announced his retirement in 2014. The 12-track set also marks the studio debuts of keyboard player David Manion and guitarist Zak Rizvi. That's a lot of new blood, but rest assured, The Prelude Implicit is very Kansas-y. Platt's amenable voice is custom made for melodic rock -- think Tommy Shaw-meets-Paul Rodgers -- and the presence of founding members Phil Ehart (drums) and Rich Williams (guitar), alongside longtime violin/guitar player David Ragsdale and bassist Billy Greer, helps to further ground the proceedings, resulting in something that sounds both familiar and forward thinking. Front-loaded with co-lead singles "With This Heart" and "Visibility Zero," the former a soaring, heartfelt anthem and the latter a muscular classic rock jam that invokes the band's "Carry on My Wayward Son"-era, the technically superb The Prelude Implicit -- literally -- hits all of the right notes, and should please longtime fans, despite the absence of Walsh. From the proggy, nearly nine-minute "Voyage of Eight Eighteen" to the hook-filled, festival-ready nostalgia piece "Summertime," it's clear that Kansas still has gas in the tank, and with some new parts in place, it looks like they've still got some road to cover.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2016
Label: Inside Out U.S.
UPC: 0889853547029
catalogNumber: 35470
Rank: 41245

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kansas   Primary Artist
Phil Ehart   Drums,Group Member
Billy Greer   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
David Ragsdale   Violin,Vocals,Group Member
Richard Williams   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Group Member
Zak Rizvi   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
David Manion   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Ronnie Platt   Piano,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Phil Ehart   Composer,Producer
Jeff Glixman   Mastering Producer
Billy Greer   Composer
John A. Lomax   Composer
Mike Slamer   Composer
David Ragsdale   Composer
Daniel Kelly   Composer
Thomas Ewerhard   Layout
Richard Williams   Composer,Producer
Traditional   Composer
Eric Holmquist   Drum Technician
Zak Rizvi   Composer,Producer
David Manion   Composer,Sound Design
Christine Boyd   Title Design,Logo Design
Chad Singer   Engineer
Scott Pearson   Lighting Director
Ronnie Platt   Composer
Jeremy Vig   Guitar Techician
Derek Papp   Monitor Engineer,Stage Manager
Denise De La Cerda   Artwork
Dave Green   Proof Reading,Tour Manager

Customer Reviews