The Pnume

The Pnume

by Jack Vance


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


His exploration ship blasted from orbit, Terran scout Adam Reith is stranded on Tschai, a world colonized by three alien species -- the Chasch, the Dirdir, and the Wannek -- while the planet's original inhabitants, the mysterious Pnume, lurk underground. In the fourth and final book of the cycle, Reith's plans to leave Tschai are foiled by the treachery of Aila Woudiver, who delivers him into the clutches of the subterranean-dwelling Pnume. Reith escapes, and teaming with a young and reluctant Pnumekin woman, embarks on an odyssey through a somber labyrinth of tunnels and underworld waterways, to where his spaceship lies hidden. When his companion is captured by the Pnume, Reith must force a last, desperate bargain.

Tschai is grandmaster Jack Vance at his unparalleled adventure-spinning peak. - Matt Hughes

The Pnume is Book IV of the Tschai (Planet of Adventure) sequence, and Volume 37 of the Spatterlight Press Signature Series.Released in the centenary of the author's birth, this handsome new collectionis based upon the prestigious Vance Integral Edition. Select volumes enjoyup-to-date maps, and many are graced with freshly-written forewords contributedby a distinguished group of authors. Each book bears a facsimile of theauthor's signature and a previously-unpublished photograph, chosen from family archives for the period the book was written. These uniquefeatures will be appreciated by all, from seasoned Vance collector to new reader sampling the spectrum of this author's influential work forthe first time.

- John Vance II

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619471047
Publisher: Spatterlight Press
Publication date: 05/04/2016
Series: Tschai, Planet of Adventure , #4
Pages: 152
Sales rank: 1,097,425
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.35(d)

About the Author

California native Jack Vance (1916-2013) was one of the greats of science fiction. He was the author of dozens of sci-fi books and fantasy novels, including the popular Lyonesse and Dying Earth series and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning book The Last Castle. In 1997, he was honored as a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. He died in Oakland, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews