The Pit: A Story of Chicago Illustrated

The Pit: A Story of Chicago Illustrated

by Frank Norris
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Pit: A Story of Chicago is a 1903 novel by Frank Norris. Set in the wheat speculation trading pits at the Chicago Board of Trade Building, it was the second book in what was to be the trilogy The Epic of the Wheat. The first book, The Octopus, was published in 1901. Norris died unexpectedly in October 1902 from appendicitis leaving the third book, The Wolf: A Story of Empire, incomplete. Together the three novels were to follow the journey of a crop of wheat from its planting in California to its ultimate consumption as bread in Western Europe.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798600598843
Publisher: Independently published
Publication date: 01/18/2020
Pages: 426
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.87(d)

Customer Reviews