The Pilgrim's Regress

The Pilgrim's Regress

by C. S. Lewis

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


The first book written by C. S. Lewis after his conversion, The Pilgrim's Regress is, in a sense, the record of Lewis's own search for meaning and spiritual satisfaction—a search that eventually led him to Christianity.

Here is the story of the pilgrim John and his odyssey to an enchanting island which has created in him an intense longing; a mysterious, sweet desire. John's pursuit of this desire takes him through adventures with such people as Mr. Enlightenment, Media Halfways, Mr. Mammon, Mother Kirk, Mr. Sensible, and Mr. Humanist and through such cities as Thrill and Eschropolis as well as the Valley of Humiliation.

Though the dragons and giants here are different from those in Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Lewis's allegory performs the same function of enabling the author to say simply and through fantasy what would otherwise have demanded a full-length philosophy of religion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062349309
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication date: 05/20/2014
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 100
Sales rank: 164,531
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably one of the most influential writers of his day. He was a Fellow and Tutor in English Literature at Oxford University until 1954, when he was unanimously elected to the Chair of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include Out of the Silent Planet, The Great Divorce, The Screwtape Letters, and the universally acknowledged classics The Chronicles of Narnia. To date, the Narnia books have sold over 100 million copies and have been transformed into three major motion pictures.

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) fue uno de los intelectuales más importantes del siglo veinte y podría decirse que fue el escritor cristiano más influyente de su tiempo. Fue profesor particular de literatura inglesa y miembro de la junta de gobierno en la Universidad Oxford hasta 1954, cuando fue nombrado profesor de literatura medieval y renacentista en la Universidad Cambridge, cargo que desempeñó hasta que se jubiló. Sus contribuciones a la crítica literaria, literatura infantil, literatura fantástica y teología popular le trajeron fama y aclamación a nivel internacional. C. S. Lewis escribió más de treinta libros, lo cual le permitió alcanzar una enorme audiencia, y sus obras aún atraen a miles de nuevos lectores cada año. Sus más distinguidas y populares obras incluyen Las Crónicas de Narnia, Los Cuatro Amores, Cartas del Diablo a Su Sobrino y Mero Cristianismo.

Date of Birth:

November 29, 1898

Date of Death:

November 22, 1963

Place of Birth:

Belfast, Nothern Ireland

Place of Death:

Headington, England


Oxford University 1917-1923; Elected fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford in 1925

Table of Contents

Book 1 The Data

I The Rules 5

II The Island 8

III The Eastern Mountains 12

IV Leah for Rachel 15

V Ichabod 17

VI Quern Quaeritis in Sepulchro? Non est Hic 19

Book 2 Thrill

I Dixit Insipiens 23

II The Hill 29

III A Little Southward 31

IV Soft Going 33

V Leah for Rachel 34

VI Ichabod 36

VII Non est Hic 38

VIII Great Promises 39

Book 3 Through Darkest Zeitgeistheim

I Eschropolis 43

II A South Wind 45

III Freedom of Thought 47

IV The Man Behind the Gun 49

V Under Arrest 51

VI Poisoning the Wells 52

VII Facing the Facts 55

VIII Parrot Disease 56

IX The Giant Slayer 58

Book 4 Back to the Road

I Let Grill Be Grill 65

II Archtype and Ectype 65

III Esse Is Percipi 68

IV Escape 71

Book 5 The Grand Canyon

I The Grand Canyon 77

II Mother Kirk's Story 80

III The Self-Sufficiency of Vertue 83

IV Mr. Sensible 85

V Table Talk 91

VI Drudge 93

VII The Gaucherie of Vertue 96

Book 6 Northward Along the Canyon

I First Steps to the North 101

II Three Pale Men 102

III Neo-Angular 106

IV Humanist 109

V Food from the North 110

VI Furthest North 111

VII Fools' Paradise 117

Book 7 Southward Along the Canyon

I Vertue Is Sick 121

II John Leading 124

III The Main Road Again 125

IV Going South 126

V Tea on the Lawn 127

VI The House of Wisdom 131

VII Across the Cannon by Moonlight 132

VIII This Side by Sunlight 134

IX Wisdom - Exoteric 139

X Wisdom - Esoteric 144

XI Mum's the Word 146

XII More Wisdom 148

Book 8 At Bay

I Two Kinds of Monist 155

II John Led 159

III John Forgets Himself 161

IV John Finds His Voice 162

V Food at a Cost 163

VI Caught 165

VII The Hermit 167

VIII History's Words 170

IX Matter of Fact 176

X Archtype and Ectype 181

Book 9 Across the Canyon

I Across the Canyon by the Inner Light 187

II This Side by Lightning 188

III This Side by the Darkness 190

IV Securus Te Projice 192

V Across the Canyon 195

VI Nella Sua Voluntade 197

Book 10 The Regress

I The Same Yet Different 203

II The Synthetic Man 205

III Limbo 206

IV The Black Hole 208

V Superbia 210

VI Ignorantia 214

VII Luxuria 216

VIII The Northern Dragon 221

IX The Southern Dragon 225

X The Brook 227

Afterword to Third Edition 231

Customer Reviews