The Old Silent (Richard Jury Series #10)

The Old Silent (Richard Jury Series #10)

by Martha Grimes

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


In the tenth murderous case for Richard Jury, the New Scotland Yard superintendent witnesses a killing in a West Yorkshire inn called the Old Silent, while his highborn, amateur colleague, Melrose Plant wishes to he could perform one as he drives his impossible Aunt Agatha to the Old Swan in Harrogate.

Caught up in a triple murder, Jury would go to any lengths to help Nell Healey, the lovely widow of one of the victims. But Nell Healey remains silent as the Yorkshire moors, quiet as the grave, while the scope of the mystery widens.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476732909
Publisher: Scribner
Publication date: 05/14/2013
Series: Richard Jury Series , #10
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 58,846
File size: 7 MB

About the Author

Bestselling author Martha Grimes is the author of more than thirty books, including twenty-two Richard Jury mysteries. She is also the author of Double Double, a dual memoir of alcoholism written with her son. The winner of the 2012 Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Award, Grimes lives in Bethesda, Maryland.


Washington, DC and Santa Fe, NM

Date of Birth:

May 2, 1931

Place of Birth:

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania


B.A., M.A., University of Maryland

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“Perfect, distilled Grimes…an engrossing tale.”—New York Daily News

“As fine as anything Ms. Grimes has written.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Another tour de force for Grimes.”—Publishers Weekly

“She writes, as always, with charm, authority, and ironic wit…a class act.”—Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews