The Old Dominion Masters

The Old Dominion Masters

by Jim & JesseJim & Jesse


$35.91 $35.99 Save 0% Current price is $35.91, Original price is $35.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This four-disc set compiles material from nine Jim & Jesse albums originally released on their own record label in the 1970s and 1980s, as well as a few radio show recordings and some previously uncompiled singles. In 1972, tired of the pressure they were feeling from the major labels to modernize their sound with drums and electric guitars, the brothers Jim & Jesse McReynolds formed the Old Dominion label and began producing and releasing their own albums. Among the nine collected here (some, but not all, in their entirety), there are two gospel albums, a collection of patriotic songs released during the U.S. bicentennial, and an album recorded live in Japan. All feature the McReynolds brothers' winning combination of tradition and innovation; the irony of the Jim & Jesse story is that even as they were resisting the more crass modernizations urged on them by record executives, they were developing a sound that was really quite progressive in bluegrass terms. They adopted the electric bass early on, their banjo players were typically well-versed in the melodic Tony Trischka/Bill Keith approach, and, along with traditional bluegrass standards like "Live and Let Live" and "Blue Ridge Mountain Blues," they frequently performed material with more complicated, country-derived structures. Jesse's own "Jesus Is the Key to the Kingdom" is one good example of that tendency, as is a surprising cover version of Chuck Berry's "Back in the U.S.A." This outstanding box set provides an excellent overview of one of bluegrass music's finest ensembles working at the peak of its powers.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/09/2018
Label: Pinecastle
UPC: 0755757900126
catalogNumber: 9001
Rank: 140521


Disc 1

  1. Cotton Mill Man
  2. Please Be My Love
  3. Blue RIdge Mountain Blues
  4. Live and Let Live
  5. Careless Love, Goodbye
  6. It's a Long, Long Way to the Top of the World (A/K/A It's a Long, Long)
  7. Just One of a Kind
  8. Your Old Love Letters
  9. As Long as the Wind Still Blows
  10. Wishful Thinking
  11. I Heard the Bluebirds Sing
  12. Rocky Top
  13. Alone with You
  14. Mansion on the Hill
  15. Everybody's Reaching out for Someone
  16. I'm a Lonesome Fugitive
  17. Wreck of the Number Nine
  18. (I'm Changing the Words to) My Love Song of You
  19. Ashes of Love
  20. When You Want a Little Lovin'
  21. The Best Dressed Beggar in Town
  22. Don't Ever Take Your Love Away from Me
  23. Sundown and Sorrow
  24. 'Mid the Green Fields of Virginia
  25. Somewhere, My Love

Disc 2

  1. Jesus Is the Key to the Kingdom
  2. Little White Church
  3. Family Bible
  4. Walking My Lord up Calvary Hill
  5. Truth on the Mountain
  6. The Family Who Prays (Never Shall Part)
  7. On the Wings of a Dove
  8. Matthew 24
  9. Born Again
  10. Two Thousand Years Ago
  11. River of Jordan
  12. How Great Thou Art
  13. Heaven
  14. Over in the Gloryland
  15. Life's Railway to Heaven
  16. There's a Light Guiding Me
  17. An Old Account Settled
  18. Wait a Little Longer, Please Jesus
  19. Everybody Will Be Happy over There
  20. Great Speckled Bird
  21. We Are Climbing
  22. When My Savior Reached Down for Me
  23. Something Got a Hold of Me
  24. Amazing Grace
  25. I'll Reap My Harvest in Heaven

Disc 3

  1. Big Hands
  2. Thank God for the USA
  3. God Bless America Again
  4. If We Forget God
  5. Under the Double Eagle
  6. When the Wagon Was New
  7. Log Cabin in the Lane
  8. Back in the U.S.A.
  9. Medley: America the Beautiful/God Bless America/Battle Hymn of the ...
  10. Violet and the Rose
  11. Take Me in the Lifeboat
  12. Sweet Virginia
  13. Air Mail Special on the Fly
  14. Then I'll Stop Going for You
  15. Hard Hearted
  16. Stormy Horizons
  17. Freight Train
  18. Ballad of Thunder Road
  19. Voice of My Darling
  20. A Bird with Broken Wings Can't Fly
  21. Cash on the Barrelhead
  22. Fireball Express
  23. Poison Love
  24. Mountain Rosa Lee
  25. AIn't It Hard to Love

Disc 4

  1. Intro
  2. Heartbreak Mountain
  3. When I Stop Dreaming
  4. Ole Slew Foot
  5. El Cumbanchero
  6. Better Times A-Coming
  7. Lee Highway Blues
  8. Knoxville Girl
  9. She Left Me Standing on the Mountain
  10. Childish Love
  11. Gosh, I Miss You All the Time
  12. Border Ride
  13. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
  14. Westphalia Waltz
  15. Dixie Hoedown
  16. I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby
  17. Paradise
  18. I Wish You Knew
  19. Heartaches and Flowers
  20. Far from You
  21. I'm Sorry, That's All I Can Say
  22. I've Been Everywhere But Crazy
  23. Break My Heart Again
  24. Maple Sugar
  25. Be Good to Her
  26. Diesel Train

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jim & Jesse   Primary Artist
Allen Shelton   Track Performer
Jesse McReynolds   Track Performer
Carl Jackson   Track Performer
Jim McReynolds   Track Performer
Joe Meadows   Track Performer
Don McHan   Track Performer
Keith McReynolds   Track Performer
Garland Shuping   Track Performer
Carol Johnson   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Bobby Bare   Composer
Roy Buchanan   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Roy Carter   Composer
John Newton   Composer
Keith Richards   Composer
Guy Smith   Composer
Dave Storrs   Composer
Gary B. Reid   Liner Notes
M. Christian   Composer
W.S. Stevenson   Composer
Elmer Laird   Composer
Howard Hausey   Composer
Brian Doyle   Composer
Boyce Hawkins   Composer
Hod Pharis   Composer
C. J. Robinson   Composer
R. Moody   Composer
J. Long   Composer

Customer Reviews