The Oedipus Cycle: Antigone, Oedipus at Colonus, and Oedipus Rex

The Oedipus Cycle: Antigone, Oedipus at Colonus, and Oedipus Rex

by Sophocles, F. Storr

NOOK BookDigital Original (eBook - Digital Original)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The doomed king of Thebes brings shame on his family in this iconic three-play cycle of ancient Greek literature, a foundational work of Western drama.
Oedipus Rex: As a young man, Oedipus was told of a prophecy that he would kill his father and marry his mother. Fleeing his home to escape his destiny, he becomes the king of Thebes by marrying the former king’s widow. But now Thebes is cursed until Oedipus discovers who killed his predecessor—a mystery that will lead him to his own doom.
Oedipus at Colonus: Blind and exiled from his own country, Oedipus takes up residence in Colonus while his two sons battle for the throne of Thebes. An oracle has pronounced that the location of their disgraced father’s final resting place will determine which of them will win. But an old enemy has his own plans for the burial.
Antigone: The war is over and Thebes’s ruler, Creon, decrees that the body of Polynices—Oedipus’s son—is not to be buried. But Antigone, the late warrior’s sister, answers to a higher authority. When she breaks the law to bury her brother with proper rites, her act of civil disobedience will unleash great upheaval.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781504065252
Publisher: Open Road Media
Publication date: 12/15/2020
Series: The Oedipus Cycle
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 151
Sales rank: 400,443
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Sophocles is one of three ancient Greek tragedians whose plays have survived. His first plays were written later than or contemporary with those of Aeschylus, and earlier than or contemporary with those of Euripides.


Customer Reviews