The Oceans Between Us: A gripping and heartwrenching novel of a mother's search for her lost child after WW2

The Oceans Between Us: A gripping and heartwrenching novel of a mother's search for her lost child after WW2

by Gill Thompson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Inspired by heartrending true events, a mother fights to find her child in this riveting debut novel.

'A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit' Kathryn Hughes

'A mother's loss and a son's courage... A heartrending story that spans the world' Diney Costeloe

'A heartrending story' Jane Corry

For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.

A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid. She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.

As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return. But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?

In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life?

This magnificent and moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Readers adore The Oceans Between Us...

'A beautiful tale of a mother's love. A wonderful book. Full of emotion, heart, joy and sorrow' Emma's Bookish Corner

'Heart-wrenching debut novel. A story based on actual events which will have you glued to the pages' Waggy Tales

'It has opened my eyes to the injustice done to so many' Shaz's Book Blog

'I flew through this emotional book. I raged at just what some had to endure. But I also felt their bravery in finding justice for all children who suffered. Highly recommended' Between My Lines

'A story that will touch every reader's heart. An absolute must-read' By The Letter Book Reviews

If you love this, you'll love The Child On Platform One by Gill Thompson, available now.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472257949
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 03/21/2019
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 12,063
File size: 570 KB

About the Author

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US, was a No. 1 digital bestseller and has been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

Customer Reviews