The Nocturne Diaries

The Nocturne Diaries

by Eliza GilkysonEliza Gilkyson


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


According to Eliza Gilkyson's liner notes for The Nocturne Diaries, this album is a collection of "songs that came to me in the middle of the night," adding that "the songs that come in the night are very different than the daylight songs." And sure enough, The Nocturne Diaries features several songs that deal with dark and troubling things, including "An American Boy," which concerns a deeply troubled teenager with a short fuse; "The Ark," a first person account of Noah and his mission; "Not My Home," an enigmatic story of a family in chaos, and "World Without End," which contemplates a culture on the verge of collapse. The Nocturne Diaries isn't one of Gilkyson's more cheerful efforts, but it isn't grim or morbid for its own sake; even the darkest moments here are warmed by a genuine compassion for the lost souls who sometimes populate her stories, and a very real concern for the world we all live in is woven through every tune. And on "The Red Rose and the Thorn" and "Midnight Oil," Gilkyson reminds us that love can redeem the bad times, and her vocals, strong but supple, bring an honest and powerful belief to whatever she chooses to sing. Gilkyson's son Cisco Ryder produced the sessions for The Nocturne Diaries, and he's come up with a set of backdrops that are vivid and richly textured without taking the stage away from the lead singer, and this is different but just as effective as their previous album together, Roses at the End of Time. Whether she looks into darkness or light, Eliza Gilkyson's vision is impressive, and she's given us another remarkable glimpse at her gifts as a vocalist and songwriter on The Nocturne Diaries.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/2014
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651026426
catalogNumber: 264
Rank: 171478


  1. Midnight Oil
  2. Eliza Jane
  3. No Tomorrow
  4. An American Boy
  5. Where No Monument Stands
  6. The Ark
  7. Fast Freight
  8. The Red Rose and the Thorn
  9. Not My Home
  10. Touchstone
  11. World Without End
  12. All Right Here

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eliza Gilkyson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Pump Organ,Guitar (Electric Baritone)
Ian McLagan   Hammond Organ
Lucy Kaplansky   Background Vocals
Ray Bonneville   Harmonica
Rich Brotherton   Banjo,Mandolin,Performing Ensemble,Cittern
Chris Maresh   Bass,Upright Bass
Mike Hardwick   Dobro,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar,Omnichord
John Egenes   Pedal Steel Guitar,Autoharp,Saw,Slide Guitar
Cisco Ryder   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Tabla,Background Vocals,Loops,Drum Loop,Doumbek
Warren Hood   Fiddle
Jens Lysdal   Electric Guitar
Delia Castillo   Background Vocals
Kamran Hooshmand   Oud,Santur

Technical Credits

Eliza Gilkyson   Composer,Lyricist,Producer
John Gorka   Composer
Terry Gilkyson   Composer
Eric Peltoniemi   Art Direction
Cisco Ryder   Producer,Engineer
Jens Lysdal   Composer
William Stafford   Composer,Lyricist

Customer Reviews