The Next Voice You Hear: The Best of Jackson Browne

The Next Voice You Hear: The Best of Jackson Browne

by Jackson BrowneJackson Browne


$9.99 $12.99 Save 23% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 23%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Boasting 13 tracks, plus two new songs, The Next Voice You Hear: The Best of Jackson Browne contains some of Browne's biggest hits -- "Doctor My Eyes," "Running on Empty," "Somebody's Baby," "Tender Is the Night" -- but it leaves a surprising number off, including "Rock Me on the Water," "Here Come Those Tears Again," "Stay," "Boulevard," "Lawyers in Love," and "For America." Of course, singles only told half the story with Browne, and many of his greatest songs were only available as album tracks. Therefore, it makes sense that album cuts like "These Days," "Late for Sky," and "The Pretender" are present, but there are still a number of equally good, if not better, cuts that are left off. Consequently, The Next Voice You Hear falls short of being definitive. Nevertheless, for the curious and casual fan, it's a good purchase.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/1997
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0075596211123
catalogNumber: 62111
Rank: 2328

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jackson Browne   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano
Jon Hassell   Trumpet
David Lindley   Slide Guitar
Graham Nash   Vocal Harmony
Jesse Ed Davis   Electric Guitar
Valerie Carter   Vocal Harmony
Sterling   Vocal Harmony
Mike Campbell   12-string Guitar
Rick Vito   Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Jim Keltner   Drums
Rosemary Butler   Vocal Harmony
Luis Conte   Percussion,Shaker
David Crosby   Vocal Harmony
Quique Cruz   Zampona
Craig Doerge   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Bob Glaub   Bass
Mark Goldenberg   Guitar
Doug Haywood   Organ,Bass,Vocal Harmony
Danny Kortchmar   Guitar
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Mauricio-Fritz Lewak   Drums,Surdo,Snare Drums
Stan Lynch   Drums
Kevin McCormick   Bass
David Paich   Piano
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Bill Payne   Organ,Synthesizer
Jorge Strunz   Guitar
Fred Tackett   Guitar
Scott Thurston   Guitar,Keyboards
Kai Winding   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano
Larry Zack   Drums
Arnold McCuller   Vocal Harmony
Leland Sklar   Bass
Jeffrey Young   Hammond Organ
Hugo Pedroza   Charango,tiple
Sanford Kunkel   Conga,Drums
Doug Richmond   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Graham Campbell   Conductor
Deborah Dopkin   Vocal Harmony
Jeff Young   Organ

Technical Credits

Jackson Browne   Composer,Producer
David Lindley   Composer
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Paul Dieter   Engineer
James Geddes   Engineer
John Haeny   Engineer
John Hanlon   Engineer
Greg Ladanyi   Producer,Engineer
Jon Landau   Producer
Richard Sanford Orshoff   Producer,Engineer
Schmitt   Producer
Mindy Sterling   Contributor
Graham Campbell   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews