The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings, Vol. 1

The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings, Vol. 1


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.


The first installment of a planned multi-part tribute to Waylon Jennings spearheaded by his son Shooter and widow Jessi Colter, The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings aims to be more than a standard tribute album. Shooter and Jessi have rounded up an impressive stable of friends, peers, and followers, finding space for a duet between Kris Kristofferson and Patty Griffin, a slot by Alabama, some room for the outlaw heir Jamey Johnson, and a cut by John Hiatt. The latter's "Just to Satisfy You" finds Hiatt duetting with an old recording of Waylon, who also appears on his own with "Go Down Rockin'," an OK outtake. The artists don't stick too closely to the originals -- only Alabama follow Waylon's blueprint on their "Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way" -- but they're mild reinterpretations. The Music Inside, Vol. 1 is a perfectly adequate tribute: it's entertaining enough and serves the purpose of driving people back to the original albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/08/2011
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0813703010524
catalogNumber: 0100

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Waylon Jennings   Guitar,Vocals
Kris Kristofferson   Vocals
John Hiatt   Guitar,Vocals
Tony Joe White   Guitar,Harmonica
Jessi Colter   Vocals
Chip Davis   Keyboards
Gene Chrisman   Drums
Jeff Cook   Guitar,Vocals
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Dan Dugmore   Lap Steel Guitar
David Hungate   Bass
Cowboy Eddie Long   Steel Guitar
Greg Morrow   Drums
Randy Owen   Guitar,Vocals
Barny Robertson   Background Vocals
Carter Robertson   Background Vocals
Jimmy Stewart   Dobro,Fiddle
Robby Turner   Bass,Dobro,Steel Guitar
Reese Wynans   Keyboards
Reggie Young   Guitar
Trace Adkins   Vocals
Bobby Terry   Steel Guitar
Wayd Battle   Guitar
Randy Houser   Guitar,Vocals
James Otto   Vocals
Shooter Jennings   Vocals
Charles English   Guitar
Jamey Johnson   Guitar,Vocals
Shawn Fichter   Drums
Sunny Sweeney   Vocals
Carter's Chord   Background Vocals
Brian Macleod   Drums
Jennifer Lynn Young   Cello
Teddy Gentry   Bass,Vocals
Chanel Campbell   Vocals
Paty Griffin   Vocals
Jim Brown   Organ,Guitar,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Alabama   Producer
Waylon Jennings   Composer
Willie Nelson   Composer
Ray Pennington   Composer
Tony Joe White   Composer
Billy Joe Shaver   Composer
Joe Baldridge   Engineer
Brett Beavers   Engineer
Mike Bradley   Engineer
Bobby Emmons   Composer
David Hall   Engineer
Stewart Harris   Composer
Jim McBride   Composer
Chips Moman   Composer
Randy Turner   Engineer
Robby Turner   Producer,Engineer
Don Bowman   Composer
Ethan Allen   Producer,Engineer
Gina R. Binkley   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Leann White   Composer
Randy Houser   Producer
Shooter Jennings   Liner Notes,Collage
Charles English   Engineer
Jamey Johnson   Producer
Witt Stewart   Art Direction

Customer Reviews