The Murderer's Ape

The Murderer's Ape

by Jakob Wegelius

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, February 25
MARKETPLACE
45 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

"This may be the most charming book I’ve read all year." --The New York Times
 
"I don’t know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." –Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of the His Dark Materials series
 
Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.
 
Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she’s an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja’s turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder.
 
For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101931752
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 01/24/2017
Pages: 624
Sales rank: 228,724
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.40(h) x 2.10(d)
Lexile: 870L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

JAKOB WEGELIUS is a Swedish writer and illustrator who lives and works in the small village of Mörtfors. In Sweden, he was awarded the August Prize for Best Children’s Book and the Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize for The Murderer’s Ape, which is also an International Youth Library White Raven selection. Visit Jakob at jakobwegelius.com.

About the Translator:
PETER GRAVES is a translator from the Scandinavian languages and has received many Swedish Academy prizes for his translations.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Murderer's Ape 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Thebooktrail-com More than 1 year ago
A joy in both languages! Having read this in the original Swedish when a very thoughtful friend sent it with a note ‘Saw this and thought of you”. Not really sure if that was a good sign since it’s about a monkey with attitude who sails the seven seas. Having said that the monkey is tough and wants to clear her friends’s name of a crime and investigate the truth plus she LOVES a good adventure so I’m hoping she meant this side of the book! It reminded me of Around the World in 80 Days and that was the first book on the BookTrail!. It’s got all the classic ingredients – adventure, excitement, danger on the high seas, the struggle of getting from one place to another, delays, danger in a new city, unknown obstacles and a sense of a chance, of a discovery. Oh and that’s not without the great characters, an ape with attitude and lots of fun along the way! I think this is a great read on many levels and certainly one to read aloud with your child doing all the voices etc. The setting is glorious with the high seas, the sense of the shipping era with huge vessels circulating the earth carrying cargo from one place to another. The list of exotic places is a treat for any traveller, literary or otherwise – sailing from one to the other with all the sights and sounds along the way is just magical when you are in such good company. Oh and don’t call the ape Sally – she hates that. Only the full Sally Jones will do. She would love the front cover of the book – artwork she probably did herself given her many talents!
A_Frances More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Sally Jones from the beginning. This is a beautiful story, regardless of your age.