The Moon & Antarctica

The Moon & Antarctica

The Moon & Antarctica

The Moon & Antarctica

CD(Anniversary Edition)

$7.99 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 8


Modest Mouse's Epic debut, The Moon & Antarctica, finds them strangely subdued, focusing on mortality as well as the moody, acoustic side of their music and downplaying the edgy rock that helped make them indie stars. Not that their first major-label release sounds like a sellout -- actually, the slight sheen of Brian Deck's production enhances the album's introspective tone -- but occasionally The Moon & Antarctica's melancholy becomes ponderous. Unfortunately, the album's middle stretch contains three such songs, "The Cold Part," "Alone Down There," and "The Stars Are Projectors," which tend to blur together into one 17-minute-long piece that bogs down the album's momentum. Individually, each of these songs is sweeping and haunting in its own right, but grouping them together blunts their impact. However, this trilogy does provide a sharp contrast to, as well as a bridge across, The Moon & Antarctica's more vibrant beginning and end. Though it explores death and the afterlife, The Moon & Antarctica's liveliest moments are its most effective. "3rd Planet"'s simple, ramshackle melody and strange, moving lyrics ("Your heart felt good"), the elastic guitars on "Gravity Rides Everything," and the angular, jumpy "Tiny Cities Made of Ashes" and "A Different City" get the album off to a strong start, while the fresh, unaffected "Wild Packs of Family Dogs," "Paper Thin Walls," and "Lives" bring it to an atmospheric, affecting peak before "What People Are Made Of" closes the album with a climactic burst of noise. Their most cohesive collection of songs to date, The Moon & Antarctica is an impressive, if flawed, map of Modest Mouse's ambitions and fears.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2010
Label: Epic
UPC: 0886977516320
catalogNumber: 775163
Rank: 25577


  1. 3rd Planet
  2. Gravity Rides Everything
  3. Dark Center of the Universe
  4. Perfect Disguise
  5. Tiny Cities Made of Ashes
  6. A Different City
  7. The Cold Part
  8. Alone Down There
  9. The Stars Are Projectors
  10. Wild Packs of Family Dogs
  11. Paper Thin Walls
  12. I Came As a Rat
  13. Lives
  14. Life Like Weeds
  15. What People Are Made of

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Modest Mouse   Primary Artist
Jeff Kennedy   Violin
Brian Deck   Keyboards
Tim Rutili   Background Vocals
Ben Massarella   Percussion
Jeremiah Green   Drums
Isaac Brock   Guitar,Vocals
Eric Judy   Bass
Chiyoko Yoshida   Background Vocals
Ben Blankenship   Banjo,Guitar,Keyboards,Lap Steel Guitar
Greg Ratajczak   Guitar
Tyler Riley   Violin,Lap Steel Guitar
Tim Rutill   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brian Deck   Producer,drum programming
Phil Ek   Engineer
Modest Mouse   Composer
Mary Maurer   Art Direction
Jeremiah Green   Composer
Isaac Brock   Composer
Eric Judy   Composer
Simon Labalestier   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews