The Missing Years

The Missing Years

by John PrineJohn Prine


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Prine took five years between his ninth studio album and this, his tenth -- enough time to gather his strongest body of material in more than a decade. From the caustic "All the Best" to the cliche compilation "It's a Big Old Goofy World," Prine's gifts for emotional revelation and off-the-wall humor are on display in abundance, and he's aided by excellent production (courtesy of Heartbreaker Howie Epstein) and strong backup musicians. The Missing Years won the 1991 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/1991
Label: Oh Boy
UPC: 0094012000929
catalogNumber: 9
Rank: 19551


  1. Picture Show
  2. All The Best
  3. The Sins Of Memphisto
  4. Everybody Wants To Feel Like You
  5. It's A Big Old Goofy World
  6. I Want To Be With You Always
  7. Daddy's Little Pumpkin
  8. Take A Look At My Heart
  9. Great Rain
  10. Way Back Then
  11. Unlonely
  12. You Got Gold
  13. Everything Is Cool
  14. Jesus The Missing Years

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Prine   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Albert Lee   Mandolin,Piano,Electric Guitar
David Lindley   Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Fiddle,Harp
Tom Petty   Background Vocals
Bonnie Raitt   Background Vocals
Bruce Springsteen   Background Vocals
John Jorgenson   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Dobro,Mandolin,Bassoon,Saxophone
Phil Everly   Background Vocals
Mike Campbell   Bass,Electric Guitar
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica
Christina Amphlett   Background Vocals
Benmont Tench   Organ,Bass,Piano,Harmonium
Liz Byrnes   Background Vocals
John Ciambotti   Bass
Howie Epstein   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Background Vocals
Steve Fishell   Dobro
Bob Glaub   Bass
Phil Parlapiano   Mandolin,Accordion,Harmonium

Technical Credits

Lefty Frizzell   Contributor
David Lindley   Contributor
Benmont Tench   Contributor
Bunetta   Executive Producer
Dan Einstein   Executive Producer
Howie Epstein   Producer
Joe Romersa   Engineer
Ed Seay   Engineer
D. Romersa   Contributor
John Mellencamp   Composer
Jim Beck   Composer

Customer Reviews