The Magpie Salute

The Magpie Salute

by The Magpie SaluteThe Magpie Salute


$14.59 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.59, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Rich Robinson decided to reach out to Marc Ford in 2014, a gesture that healed a decade's worth of animosity between the two Black Crowes guitarists. They in turn brought former Crowes keyboardist Eddie Harsch into a circle that included Robinson's touring band -- which also featured Sven Pipien, who played bass in the waning days of the Black Crowes -- and this crew of seven musicians and three backup singers formed the Magpie Salute. Harsch passed during the recording of the group's eponymous 2017 debut -- they recruited Matt Slocum in his place -- but the essential fact remains: the Magpie Salute sound like a reconstituted version of the Black Crowes, only heavier. Some of that weight is due to how the focus of the group is on the interplay between Robinson and Ford, who keep spiraling solos and riffs, intertwining and weaving instead of battling. Some of this heaviness is also due to the absence of Chris Robinson, who was a charismatic frontman in the Crowes and also brought along a strong dose of hippie mysticism. Despite a cover of Pink Floyd's "Fearless," the Magpie Salute have no time for the cosmos. They're proudly earthbound as they crank out versions of old Delaney & Bonnie and Faces tunes, dabbling in a few deep Crowes cuts for good measure. The presence of these oldies underscores how this group is mature -- not as reckless in approach, but confident and assured, a band of lifers who still gain sustenance from playing the music of their life.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2017
Label: Eagle Records
UPC: 0826992040929
catalogNumber: 204092
Rank: 119204


  1. Omission
  2. Comin’ Home
  3. What Is Home
  4. Wiser Time
  5. Goin' Down South
  6. War Drums
  7. Ain't No More Cane
  8. Fearless
  9. Glad and Sorry
  10. Time Will Tell

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Magpie Salute   Primary Artist
Karl Berger   Vibes
Eddie Harsch   Keyboards
John Hogg   Vocals
Joe Magistro   Drums,Vocals
Rich Robinson   Guitar,Vocals
Sven Pipien   Bass,Background Vocals
Danielia Cotton   Background Vocals
Marc Ford   Guitar,Vocals
Adrien Reju   Background Vocals
Katrine Ottosen   Background Vocals
Charity White   Background Vocals
Matt Slocum   Keyboards
Nico Bereciartua   Guitar

Technical Credits

Bob Marley   Composer
Roger Waters   Composer
Lee Oskar   Composer
Joe Sample   Composer
Bonnie Bramlett   Composer
Delaney Bramlett   Composer
Thomas Allen   Composer
Harold Brown   Composer
Eric Clapton   Composer
B.B. Dickerson   Composer
David Gilmour   Composer
Ronnie Lane   Composer
Chris Robinson   Composer
Howard Scott   Composer
Charles Miller   Composer
John Hogg   Composer
Michael Birnbaum   Engineer,Creation
Chris Bittner   Engineer,Creation
Rich Robinson   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Traditional   Composer
Shervin Lainez   Cover Photo
Leroy Jordan   Composer

Customer Reviews