The Junction

The Junction

by The Manhattan TransferThe Manhattan Transfer


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


An eclectic, brightly attenuated recording, 2018's The Junction is the Manhattan Transfer's first studio album since the death of founding member Tim Hauser from a heart attack in 2014. It's also the first album the legendary vocal group has recorded with his replacement, M-Pact vocalist Trist Curless. Along with Curless, once again showcased are the talents of longtime group members Cheryl Bentyne, Janis Siegel, and Alan Paul. The Junction follows up 2009's ambitious The Chick Corea Songbook, and finds the group moving away from that album's organic, fusion-influenced sound and delving instead into a sparkling, jazzy mix of inspired covers and originals. Produced with studio savvy by Mervyn Warren (Whitney Houston, Michael Bublé, Take 6), The Junction is a sleek production, where the Transfer's laser-tone vocals are framed by warm keyboards, percolating beats, and just enough electronic flourishes to lend the proceedings a contemporary vibe. They kick things off with "Cantaloop (Flip Out!)," a deft rendition of Us3's "Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)," which was itself a reworking of Herbie Hancock's classic "Cantaloupe Island." Also compelling is the group's take on XTC's "The Man Who Sailed Around His Soul," in which they juxtapose Curless' lead vocals on the angular, loungey verses with the group's diamond-toned, horn section-accented harmonies on the choruses. Elsewhere, Paul shines on the languid, bossa nova-tinged "Sometimes I Do," and Siegel leads the group with emotive passion through Rickie Lee Jones' "Ugly Man." While Hauser's warm vocals and artistic vision were a huge part of the Manhattan Transfer, the group has found a worthy successor in Curless, who brings his own adept vocal skills to the ensemble. Furthermore, with all the members of the group adding their own original ideas to the album, as they've done in the past, The Junction works as both a tribute to Hauser and the mark of a new beginning.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2018
Label: Bmg Rights Managemen
UPC: 4050538357288
catalogNumber: 35728
Rank: 7582

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Manhattan Transfer   Primary Artist
Janis Siegel   Trumpet,Vocals
Cheryl Bentyne   Vocals,Voiceover
Brandon Fields   Guitar,Saxophone
Scott Frankfurt   Percussion,Drums
Yaron Gershovsky   Soloist
Freddie Hubbard   Soloist
Paul Jackson   Acoustic Guitar
Alan Paul   Vocals,Voiceover
Mervyn Warren   Bass,Piano,Drums,Keyboards
Christopher Harrison   Keyboards
Luisito Quintero   Percussion
Brian Benning   Strings,Violin
Don Breithaupt   Keyboards
Knox Summerour   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Grace Kelly   Saxophone
Ray Reinebach   Strings
Jen Simone   Strings
Eddie Elllis   Guitar
Can Canbolat   Strings
Trist Curless   Vocals

Technical Credits

Baxter   Composer
Rickie Lee Jones   Composer
Herbie Hancock   Composer
Janis Siegel   Composer
Cheryl Bentyne   Composer
Andy Partridge   Composer
Wayne Peet   Engineer
Alan Paul   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Tony Shepperd   Engineer
Mel Simpson   Composer
Mervyn Warren   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,drum programming,Percussion Programming,Vocal Editing
Geoff Wilkinson   Composer
Ed Boyer   Vocal Editing
Christopher Harrison   Composer,drum programming
Daniel Flores   Composer
Mocean Worker   drum programming
Rahsaan Kelly   Composer
David Das   Engineer,Vocal Editing
Fran Cathcart   Vocal Engineer
Adam Dornblum   Composer
Don Breithaupt   Composer,drum programming
Grace Kelly   Composer
Paul Kozel   Vocal Engineer
Dave Thomas   Vocal Engineer
Mary Sue England   Liner Notes
Trist Curless   Composer
Matt Lapointe   Engineer

Customer Reviews