The Ivy Tree

The Ivy Tree

by Mary Stewart

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

''There are few to equal Mary Stewart'' Daily Telegraph

''Mary Stewart is magic.'' New York Times

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress, Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder-keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love.

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree''s upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it . . .


''One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century'' Independent

''The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing'' Daily Express

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781444720471
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, Ltd.
Publication date: 04/28/2011
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 27,673
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century''s bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association''s Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children''s books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.

Customer Reviews