The Hurt & the Healer

The Hurt & the Healer

by MercyMeMercyMe


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


Award-winning, Texas-based Christian rockers MercyMe's eighth studio album, The Hurt & The Healer, is billed as a "celebration of that moment when these two worlds collide... the deep need for healing and the God who provides it." That sentiment is most affecting on the title cut, a soaring, midtempo ballad that ponders "I'm alive/even though part of me has died/you take my heart and breathe it back to life," but it's not the only sure-to-be fan favorite to be found here. The emotive, reverent "You Are I Am" and the bluesy "Take the Time," the latter of which features guest vocals from Bear Rinehart of fellow CCM superstars Needtobreathe, are both first spin highlights, and the propulsive, upbeat opener "You Know Better" sets the pace and mood with a road trip-ready chorus set against a driving, alt-rock backbeat. The Hurt & The Healer may not deviate much from the fairly predictable, anthem-heavy template of previous outings, but few bands in the genre are as adept as MercyMe when it comes to implementing that sound effectively.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/22/2012
Label: Fair Trade Services
UPC: 0736211602091
catalogNumber: 16020
Rank: 3461


  1. You Know Better
  2. You Don't Care At All
  3. The Hurt & the Healer
  4. To Whom It May Concern
  5. You Are I Am
  6. Take the Time
  7. Don't Give Up On Me
  8. Hold On
  9. Best of Me
  10. The First Time

Album Credits

Performance Credits

MercyMe   Primary Artist
Barry Graul   Background Vocals
Dan Muckala   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Nathan Cochran   Background Vocals
Mike Scheuchzer   Background Vocals
Bart Millard   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Brown Bannister   Composer,Producer,overdub engineer
F. Reid Shippen   Engineer
Dan Muckala   Composer,Programming,Producer,overdub engineer
MercyMe   Composer
Jason Ingram   Composer
Dan Deurloo   Drum Technician,Drum Editing
Seth Bolt   Vocal Engineer
Bear Rinehart   Composer
Brody Harper   Art Direction
Seth Mosely   Composer

Customer Reviews