The Hunting Party: A Novel

The Hunting Party: A Novel

by Lucy Foley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

AN INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED THRILLERS OF THE WINTER BY:

Goodreads • BookBub • PopSugar • BookRiot • Crimereads • Pure Wow • Crime by the Book

ALL OF THEM ARE FRIENDS. ONE OF THEM IS A KILLER.

“A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.” – A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

DON’T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062868923
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/12/2019
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 5,082
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

LUCY FOLEY is a former editor at Hodder Fiction and has been both a literary agent and a bookseller. An avid painter, she now writes full time and lives in London, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hunting Party: A Novel 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 8 months ago
This book should be an example of how not to write. Boooorrrriinnggg.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+kept+thinking+%22get+to+the+point%21%21%22+for+the+first+100+pages.+I+tired+of+the+endless+pages+descriptions+of+the+silly+childish+characters%0Aand+their+pointless+lives.
marykuhl 19 days ago
A book about a group of friends from Oxford and their significant others who spend the New Year's holiday in a secluded Lodge in Scotland. One ends up dead and everyone has a motive. This book starts with the discovery of the body, the day after New Year's and goes back and forth between Three Days Before when the guests arrive and Now, working its way up (and the suspense) to the murder. You don't find out until pretty late in the book who the victim is, and then you have to wait until the end to find out who and why. I really liked this book. I am giving it four stars just because it lacked that "WOW, I didn't see that coming" (for me anyway). However I would definitely recommend!
Anonymous 4 months ago
This+definitely+wasn%27t+the+best+book+I%27ve+ever+read%2C+and+I+really+wanted+to+like+it+way+more+than+I+did.+But+it+just+seemed+to+go+on+and+on+without+really+getting+anywhere%2C+until+the+end.+And+even+then+it+wasn%27t+magnificent.++I+bought+it+on+sale+so+I+don%27t+feel+too+badly+about+the+purchase.+
Anonymous 4 months ago
I+thought+it+was+great...%0A
Sensitivemuse 4 months ago
I somewhat liked the mystery aspect of the novel. That’s what got me into reading this one in the first place. However it wasn’t what I thought it would and I finished the novel only because I wanted to know who it was that did the murder and the story behind it. The plot itself could use a little more as it’s lackluster and not interesting. If you’re looking for a murder mystery that’s a classic whodunit it’s not here. There may be slight similarities to it but it’s really more of a bunch of thirty somethings in a house and something bad happens. The events leading up to the murder are each told in a point of view of a character. At first it may be difficult to tell which one is which. You rather forget who is who as the characters are rather bland and uninteresting. Miranda stands out the most but even she’s not that likable. She’s a resentful spiteful twit who likes to step over others and hates their successes as she’s amounted to pretty much nothing. I’ve never seen such a spoiled brat as Miranda. Then you have Katie and Emma who aren’t that interesting either. Although if I had to choose, it’ll be Katie who was somewhat interesting. Until of course, she decides to do something extremely stupid and she ends up being just as spiteful as Miranda. Goodness, I didn’t think I was watching one of those soap operas or reality shows where they have this much drama. Then there’s Heather and Doug who aren’t a part of the group of friends but they each had their own story to tell. Well not really. Not much was revealed from them except they had horrible pasts. Okay. Details please. It’s nice to have well rounded characters but they ended up being vacant and lifeless. The mystery element (what little of it) was there and it came and went throughout the chapters. When all is final and revealed well, it’s all right but it’s not the best either. There’s not much in the way of background information and if there was, not much is given and the characters have no substance at all. The plot comes up empty and the whole thing with Iain, was that meant to be a red herring? This entire story just didn’t amount to what I thought it would. It’s disappointing as I wanted to like the book and was hyped for it. Don’t really recommend this one. If you really want to read it, I suggest library take out. Otherwise skip this one entirely.
JulieB 6 months ago
My thoughts: An exclusive, remote Scottish hunting lodge is the setting for a group of old college friends to spend New Year’s Eve together. This place sounded pretty awesome for the most part . It begins with a missing guest...pulling you in right away. Then alternates between the present (after the body is found) and past (just a few days earlier, when the guests arrive). The book didn’t start out as a page-turning thriller. But it kept a steady and energetic pace. I’m not usually a big fan of less-thrilling mystery/who-done-it’s, but this book held my attention from the very first page! It slowly builds up tension as they become snowed in. Everyone with their own poisonous secrets, wondering if there is a killer among them. The victim isn’t revealed until towards the end of the book, so you’re trying to figure out both the killer and victim! This would be a great story to read on a snowy winter night in front of the fireplace...just to set the eerie mood. It was full of flawed characters with poisonous secrets and mysterious pasts...some quite a bit more sinister than others. Heather: Lodge Manager Doug: Lodge Gamekeeper Iain: Lodge Employee Miranda and Julien: Married/both charismatic and attractive. Miranda is the foundation of the group and always the center of attention. Samira and Giles: Married/with a baby. They are beginning to be the “boring” couple, now that they have a child. Emma and Mark: BF/GF. Emma organised the trip. She is the latest addition to the group. She’s only been around since she started dating Mark and still somewhat of an outsider. Nick and Bo: BF/BF. Bo was also a late addition to the group. He’s American, didn’t attend college with the “main group” and is a recovering addict. Katie: The only single one. Miranda’s BFF since they were 13. She’s becoming weary of being known as Miranda’s meek sidekick. My Rating: 4 ⭐️’s Published: February 12th 2019 by William Morrow Pages: 336 Recommend: Yes! A must read for mystery lovers. Book Blurb: Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect... For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue. All of them are friends. One of them is a killer. During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves. They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world. Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead. The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps. Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it. Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?
Anonymous 9 months ago
Good
DBBGriswold 11 months ago
Straight from the Agatha Christie mold, well told mystery tale of who done it and to whom. Keep your friends close...
Anonymous 11 months ago
++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC copy of this book so that format is what I am basing my review on: This was an enjoyable read though I'm not sure it works as intended. The descriptions given seem to present this as a thriller or even a murder mystery and there is one there- eventually- but you're pretty far along before there's any sense of urgency or danger. Having said that, I enjoyed getting to know the backstories of these characters and they're interesting people with interesting stories. It's just that you spend an awful lot of time getting through those (constantly shifting pov) chapters for the "payoff" which is over in the blink of an eye and very little build-up. A note on the actual writing: the author has a habit of phrasing her sentences so that they seem cut off or truncated. It's just a peculiarity and once you get used to it, it doesn't detract from the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a great book!