The Hoople [Bonus Tracks]

The Hoople [Bonus Tracks]

by Mott the HoopleMott the Hoople

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Mott was so good that the sequel, appropriately named The Hoople, has been unfairly dismissed as not living up to the group's promise. Yes, it doesn't compare to its predecessor, but most records don't. The bigger problem is that Mick Ralphs chose to leave during the supporting tour for Mott, leaving Ian Hunter as the undisputed leader of the group and subtly changing the character of the band's sound. Even with Hunter as Mott the Hoople's main songwriter, Ralphs helped shape their musical direction, so without a collaborator in hand, Hunter was left without a center. So, it isn't surprising that the record seems a little uneven, both in terms of songwriting and sound, but it's hardly without merit. "Roll Away the Stone," a leftover from Mott, is first-rate; "Crash Street Kidds" rocks viciously; "The Golden Age of Rock & Roll" is a pleasant spin on Bowie-esque nostalgia (think "Drive-In Saturday"); and Overend Watts follows through on that theme with "Born Late '58," a perfectly credible rocker. This all makes The Hoople an entertaining listen, even if it doesn't compare to Mott's earlier masterpieces. [A 2004 reissue via Sony International included the bonus tracks "Where Do You All Come From?," "Rest in Peace," and "Foxy Foxy."]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/09/2006
Label: Columbia/Legacy Euro
UPC: 0827969787328
catalogNumber: 697873
Rank: 23240


  1. The Golden Age of Rock 'N' Roll
  2. Marionette
  3. Alice
  4. Crash Street Kidds
  5. Born Late '58
  6. Trudi's Song
  7. Pearl 'N' Roy (England)
  8. Through the Looking Glass
  9. Roll Away the Stone
  10. Where Do You All Come From
  11. Rest in Peace
  12. Foxy Foxy
  13. (Do You Remember) The Saturday Gigs
  14. The Saturday Kids
  15. Lounge Lizzard
  16. American Pie/The Golden Age of Rock 'N' Roll

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mott the Hoople   Primary Artist
Ian Hunter   Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Morgan Fisher   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Ariel Bender   Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Howie Casey   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Dale "Buffin" Griffin   Drums
Michael Hurwitz   Cello
Jock McPherson   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Mick Ralphs   Choir, Chorus
Barry St. John   Background Vocals
Thunderthighs   Background Vocals
Pete Watts   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Choir, Chorus,12-string Guitar
Sunny   Background Vocals
Michael Geoffrey Ralphs   Rhythm Guitar
Graham Preskit   Violin,Conductor,Tubular Bells

Technical Credits

Bruce Dickinson   Reissue Producer
Ian Hunter   Producer
Don McLean   Composer
Gary Edwards   Engineer
Dale "Buffin" Griffin   Producer
Paul Hardiman   Engineer
Alan Harris   Engineer
Sean Milligan   Engineer
Bill Price   Engineer
Peter Swettenham   Engineer
Pete Watts   Arranger,Producer
Mike Dunne   Engineer
Roslav Szaybo   Concept
Graham Preskit   Arranger,Orchestration
Campbell Devine   Liner Notes
T. Griffin   Composer
Bruce Dickinson   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews