The Hits 1

The Hits 1

by PrincePrince




Prince's two-part Hits collection includes enough necessary items to illustrate why he was one of the most influential and gifted musicians of the '80s, as well as providing a reasonable introduction and compilation for casual fans. Hits 1 contains a good cross section of his biggest hits -- "When Doves Cry" (presented in an edited version), "When You Were Mine," "Let's Go Crazy," "1999," "Sign 'O' the Times," "Alphabet Street," "Diamonds and Pearls," "7" -- plus new items like "Pink Cashmere" and "Nothing Compares 2 U" (a Prince song that Sinéad O'Connor took to number one) that are nearly as good as the familiar tracks.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/1993
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624543121
catalogNumber: 45431


  1. When Doves Cry
  2. Pop Life
  3. Soft and Wet
  4. I Feel for You
  5. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad?
  6. When You Were Mine
  7. Uptown
  8. Let's Go Crazy
  9. 1999
  10. I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man
  11. Nothing Compares 2 U
  12. Adore
  13. Pink Cashmere
  14. Alphabet St.
  15. Sign 'o' the Times
  16. Thieves in the Temple
  17. Diamonds and Pearls
  18. 7

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prince   Primary Artist
Brownmark   Bass,Vocals
Eric Leeds   Vocals,Overdubs
Fink   Keyboards,Vocals
Atlanta Bliss   Trumpet,Vocals,Overdubs
Michael B.   Drums
Tommy Barbarella   Keyboards,Sampling
Joe Blaney   Recorder
Bonnie Boyer   Hammond Organ,Vocals
Lisa Coleman   Strings,Keyboards,Vocals
Dez   Vocals
Damon Dickson   Percussion,Vocals
Sheila E.   Drums
Sheila Escovedo   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Clare Fischer   Performing Ensemble
Arne Frager   Recorder
Dave Friedlander   Recorder
Rosie Gaines   Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael Koppelman   Recorder
David Leonard   Recorder
Tony M.   Vocals,Rap
Peggy McCreary   Recorder
Wendy Melvoin   Strings
Miko   Guitar,Vocals
Brian Poer   Recorder
Levi Seacer   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Sonny T.   Bass,Background Vocals
Bobby Z   Percussion
Ray Hahnfeldt   Recorder
Peggy Mac   Recorder
Mayte   Organ,Sampling
Kirk Johnson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Mike   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Prince   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Eric Leeds   Liner Notes
Jeff Gold   Art Direction
Gary Brandt   Engineer
Mark Ettel   Contributor
Clare Fischer   Orchestration
Tom Garneau   Engineer
Mick Guzauski   Remixing
David Leonard   Engineer
Peggy McCreary   Engineer
Tim Penn   Engineer
Susan Rogers   Engineer
Jamie Starr   Engineer
David Tickle   Engineer
Tommy Vicari   Engineer,Executive Producer,Remixing
Alan Leeds   Liner Notes
Coke Johnson   Engineer
Peggy Mac   Engineer
Bob Mockler   Remixing
Prince & the New Power Generation   Composer
Greg Ross   Art Direction
Don Batts   Engineer
David Carson   Logo Design
Eddie Miller   Engineer
Chris Moon   Composer

Customer Reviews