The Guitar Song

The Guitar Song

by Jamey JohnsonJamey Johnson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Guitar Song is a 25-song double album with thematically linked sets of songs dubbed the "Black Album" and the "White Album."

"The original idea was always to do a double album," says Jamey Johnson. "It is an album that is a tale. The first part of it is a very dark and sordid story. And then everything after that is progressively more positive, reassuring and redemptive."

The "Black" songs include the menacing, partly spoken "Poor Man Blues," the intensely defiant "Can't Cash My Checks," the sighing and bluesy "Even the Skies Are Blue," and the chillingly aggressive "Heartache." The lighter "White" songs are highlighted by the strongly autobiographical "That's Why I Write Songs," the languidly relaxing "Front Porch Swing Afternoon," the rocking "Good Times Ain't What They Used to Be," and the easy-going groove tune "Macon."

The ambitious project's textures are many and varied. "Baby Don't Cry" is a lullaby. "I Remember You" is a gospel song. "That's How I Don't Love You" is a deeply sad power ballad. "By the Seat of Your Pants" tells of life's lessons. The title tune, "The Guitar Song," is told from the point of view of two forgotten guitars hanging on a pawn shop wall. "Playing the Part" and "California Riots" come from feeling out of place as a country boy in Hollywood.

"Picking the songs for it was easy," says Jamey. "They pretty much picked themselves. We just had to decide which album each one went on and at which point on the record should each one occur. Once we decided where each fit, it was a done deal." From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602527173160
catalogNumber: 001336402
Rank: 25792

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jamey Johnson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Eric Darken   Percussion
Curtis Wright   Background Vocals
Kevin Grantt   Bass,Upright Bass
Cowboy Eddie Long   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Mac McAnally   Acoustic Guitar
Fred Mandel   Piano
Michael Spriggs   Acoustic Guitar
Keith Gattis   Electric Guitar
Rivers Rutherford   Acoustic Guitar
Mark Crum   Bass
Wayd Battle   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Randy Houser   Background Vocals
Mike Kennedy   Drums
Jason Cope   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist
Brian Allen   Bass
Dave Cobb   Electric Guitar
Chris Powell   Drums
Melanie Cannon   Background Vocals
Kate Coppola   Background Vocals
Kacey Coppola   Background Vocals
John Scott   Synthesizer
John Henry Trinko   Piano
Dave McAfee   Drums
Jim Brown   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Soloist

Technical Credits

Bill Anderson   Composer
Bobby Bare   Composer
Vern Gosdin   Composer
Kris Kristofferson   Composer
Mel Tillis   Composer
Keith Whitley   Composer
Buddy Cannon   Composer
Hank Cochran   Composer
Don Cook   Composer
Dean Dillon   Composer
Kevin Grantt   Tic Tac
Charlie Midnight   Composer
Larry Shell   Composer
George Teren   Composer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Dean Miller   Composer
Carson Chamberlain   Composer
Vicky McGehee   Composer
Chick Raines   Composer
Rivers Rutherford   Composer
T.W. Cargile   Engineer,overdub engineer
Shane Minor   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Mark Rains   Engineer
Shannon Lawson   Composer
Wayd Battle   Composer
James Otto   Composer
Jason Cope   Composer
Lee Thomas Miller   Composer
Jamey Johnson   Composer
Dave Cobb   Producer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Jim McCormick   Composer
Arlis Albritton   Composer,Producer
Kent Hardly Playboys   Producer
Kacey Coppola   Composer
Dallas Davidson   Composer
Teddy Gentry   Composer
Chris Dubois   Composer
Eric Torres   Engineer

Customer Reviews