The Guineaman

The Guineaman

by Richard Woodman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Fear and fighting on the High Seas.

When William Kite runs away to sea to escape a charge of murder, he finds himself aboard the Enterprize, a Liverpool Guineaman, or slave ship, destined for the coast of West Africa. Once loaded with slaves, the ship then crosses the Atlantic, bound for the sugar plantations of the West Indies.

Despite the accusation hanging over him, Kite's compassion for the slaves' helplessness finds him serving as a surgeon on the ship, exposed to the dreaded yellow fever. But as the Seven Years’ War looms on the horizon, Kite’s life will be threatened by more than just sickness…

The first in the William Kite Naval Adventures, The Guineaman is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788632171
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 08/30/2018
Series: The William Kite Naval Adventures , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 300
Sales rank: 224,115
File size: 584 KB

About the Author

Richard Woodman is a prolific author of historical fiction, and was born in London in 1944. He became an indentured midshipman in cargo liners at the age of sixteen and has sailed in a variety of ships, serving from apprentice to captain. In 1978 he won the Marine Society's Harmer Award. This experience gives his naval fiction a rich authenticity, and spurred him to write over forty historical novels, as well as a series on the history of the British Merchant Navy, alongside many other non-fiction historical books.

Customer Reviews