The Greatest Songs Ever Written (By Us)

The Greatest Songs Ever Written (By Us)



$14.73 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.73, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


Twenty years is a long time for any band, let alone one that plays jocular warp-speed anthems with titles like "Party Enema" and "Green Corn." Nevertheless, here it is, NOFX's typically self-deprecating Greatest Songs Ever Written: By Us. Entertaining liner notes trace the combo's history in photos, drawings, Xeroxed show bills, and Fat Mike's own scribbled narration; 26 tracks take you from NOFX's first full-lengths in the 1980s through their somewhat surprising, yet still snarky political awakening with 2003's War on Errorism. ("Franco-Unamerican" rhymes "Michael Moore" and "Awful Truth" with "Public Enemy" and "Regan Youth.") As the entire release is an admission of their age, it's no surprise that Greatest Songs Ever's lone new song grapples with the relevancy of playing punk music to quitting drinking and getting old. But the comp also proves the consistency of Fat Mike's songwriting, with highlights including "Linoleum," "What's the Matter With Kids Today," "Thank God It's Monday," and "It's My Job to Keep Punk Rock Elite." While the nonchronological set order is a little trying, and there's nothing from the band's earliest 7"s, Greatest Songs Ever Written: By Us is still a fun look back at NOFX's colorful career, and a validation of their veteran status. That has to count for something in the Warped Tour parents' tent.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/09/2004
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778672721
catalogNumber: 86727
Rank: 25062


  1. Dinosaurs Will Die
  2. Linoleum
  3. Bob
  4. The Separation of Church & Skate
  5. Murder the Government
  6. Bleeding Heart Disease
  7. Bottles to the Ground
  8. 180 Degrees
  9. Party Enema
  10. What's the Matter With Kids Today
  11. Reeko
  12. Stickin in My Eye
  13. All Outta Angst
  14. Leave It Alone
  15. Green Corn
  16. The Longest Line
  17. Thank God Its Monday
  18. The Idiots Are Taking Over
  19. Don't Call Me White
  20. Day to Daze
  21. Soul Doubt
  22. Philthy Phil Philanthropist
  23. Shut Up Already
  24. It's My Job to Keep Punk Rock Elite
  25. Franco Un-American
  26. Kill All the White Man
  27. Wore Out the Soles of My Party Boots

Album Credits

Customer Reviews