The Great Divide

The Great Divide

by Von FreemanVon Freeman


$11.08 $12.99 Save 15% Current price is $11.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 15%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Journeyman tenor saxophonist Von Freeman pays tribute to his first major influences Coleman Hawkins, Lester Young, and Charlie Parker on The Great Divide. Centered around Freeman's gorgeously blue, often skronky sax tone, the album works almost conceptually with Freeman representing the divide between the cool vulnerability of Young, the muscular swing of Hawkins, and the cerebral hipness of Parker. This is a meaty, visceral album full of well-worn standards that nonetheless feels immediate and relevant. Now in his eighties, Freeman -- utterly unique and obviously inspired -- still amazes with his mix of straight-ahead melodicism and avant-garde, sometimes off-kilter improvisation. He turns the Italian tenor perennial "Be My Love" into a sanguine and deliciously forlorn mid-tempo swinger. Similarly, Freeman's swabs of rich blue and green tones on the ballad "This Is Always" perfectly call to mind Young's languid and way-behind-the-beat late-career recordings. Freeman's originals also carry much weight here with "Never Fear Jazz Is Here" recalling the spirit of Parker via a burning harmalodic-esque melody, while "Chant Time" works as mantra to these ancients of jazz. The band -- to which you hear Freeman speaking in a few brief and soulful moments -- includes pianist Richard Wyands, bassist John Webber, and drummer Jimmy Cobb.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2013
Label: Premonition Records
UPC: 0669179075921
catalogNumber: 90759
Rank: 92140

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Von Freeman   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Richard Wyands   Piano
Jimmy Cobb   Drums
John Webber   Bass

Technical Credits

Von Freeman   Producer
Matt Dennis   Composer
Coleman Hawkins   Composer
Jim Anderson   Engineer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Michael Friedman   Producer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Machito Sanchez   Engineer
Harry Warren   Composer
John B. Litweiler   Liner Notes
Neil Tesser   Author
Marc PoKempner   Cover Photo
Tom Adair   Composer
Nicholas Brodszky   Composer
Tim Anderson   Paintings

Customer Reviews