The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story

The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story

by Brenda Davies

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

***TOP TEN BESTSELLER***

'Compelling. Poignant. Haunting. Heart wrenching. Just beautiful. Everyone needs to read this wonderful book.' - Renita D'Silva, bestselling author of The Forgotten Daughter

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981.
When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, The Girl Behind the Gates is perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter and Philomena.

Further praise for THE GIRL BEHIND THE GATES:

'The Girl behind the Gates absorbed me from the start. A haunting, heart-wrenching but ultimately heart-warming novel.' - Gill Thompson, bestselling author of The Oceans Between Us

'The Girl Behind the Gates is a powerful, emotional novel. I was moved to tears by the ending and will certainly not hesitate to recommend it.' - Jill Childs, bestselling author of Gracie's Secret

'A powerful story of trust, compassion, healing - and the transforming power of love, that can give new life to a broken spirit.' - Sharon Maas, bestselling author of The Violin Maker's Daughter

Readers LOVE The Girl Behind the Gates!

'The best book of the year. I read 125 books a year and this is the best I have read' - 5 STARS
'I can't stop crying having just finished the book. It's an incredible piece of literary genius' - 5 STARS
'A story that needs to be told' - 5 STARS
'An inspirational and very moving story' - 5 STARS
'Just brilliant. I wholeheartedly recommend this book' - 5 STARS
'I hardly ever write a review but if you read one book this year this is it' - 5 STARS
'A very moving and heartbreaking story' - 5 STARS
'I would have given this book 10 STARS if I could' - 5 STARS
'This book is beautifully written and captivating in every way' - 5 STARS



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781529374551
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, Ltd.
Publication date: 05/28/2020
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 19,465
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Dr Brenda Davies is Consultant Psychiatrist. She holds regular workshops around the world and includes many celebrities among her clients. Having been born and raised in County Durham, England, Brenda Davies now lives very happily in Wales. She spent many years living and working abroad, in Zambia, the USA, Germany and Rome. The Girl Behind the Gates is her first novel.

Customer Reviews