The Genius of Ray Charles

The Genius of Ray Charles

by Ray CharlesRay Charles


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


Some players from Ray Charles' big band are joined by many ringers from the Count Basie and Duke Ellington bands for the first half of this program, featuring Charles belting out six songs arranged by Quincy Jones. "Let the Good Times Roll" and "Deed I Do" are highlights, and there are solos by tenorman David "Fathead" Newman, trumpeter Marcus Belgrave, and (on "Two Years of Torture") tenor Paul Gonsalves. The remaining six numbers are ballads, with Charles backed by a string orchestra arranged by Ralph Burns (including "Come Rain or Come Shine" and "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'"). Charles' voice is heard throughout in peak form, giving soul to even the veteran standards.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/24/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678133824
catalogNumber: 1312
Rank: 73922


  1. Let the Good Times Roll
  2. It Had to Be You
  3. Alexander's Ragtime Band
  4. Two Years of Torture
  5. When Your Lover Has Gone
  6. Deed I Do
  7. Just for a Thrill
  8. You Won't Let Me Go
  9. Tell Me You'll Wait for Me
  10. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'
  11. Am I Blue
  12. Come Rain or Come Shine

Album Credits

Customer Reviews