The Funky Side of Life

The Funky Side of Life

by Sound Directions Sound Directions
The Funky Side of Life

The Funky Side of Life

by Sound Directions Sound Directions


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 9


Madlib's Sound Directions project follows in the footsteps of Yesterdays New Quintet by presenting a small group of jazz players (most, if not all of them, Otis Jackson himself) loosely playing a down-home and funky brand of jazz music perfectly suited for a hip lounge. The Funky Side of Life is heavy on the covers -- not standards -- and that makes a big difference. (Jackson usually just needs a good riff to cover his vamping style of keyboards, and this roster of tracks services his needs perfectly.) The first non-original comes straight out of left field; "Wanda Vidal," originally by the extraordinarily gifted Brazilian Marcos Valle, is the perfect type of light and loungey tune that Jackson can run rings around. The rest are nearly as obscure, including Billy Brooks' "Forty Days" (although A Tribe Called Quest fans will recognize the hook), Oliver Sain's "On the Hill," David Axelrod's "A Divine Image" (with excellent ARP and Hammond work here), and the only famous cover, Cliff Nobles' instrumental hit "The Horse." The lo-fi lurch of nearly all Madlib's work is in effect here, and besides the rather anonymous atmosphere of the recording, it's an enjoyable piece of latter-day jazz-funk by rap's most visionary music-maker.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/04/2005
Label: Stones Throw
UPC: 0659457212421
catalogNumber: 2124
Rank: 174579


  1. Directions
  2. Dice Game
  3. Wanda Vidal
  4. Forty Days
  5. Play Car
  6. A Divine Image
  7. The Funky Side of Life
  8. Theme for Ivory Black
  9. The Horse
  10. One for J.J./Harlem Clavinet
  11. On the Hill

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sound Directions   Primary Artist
Derek Brooks   Synthesizer,Group Member
David Ralicke   Trombone,Tenor Saxophone,Tenor (Vocal),Soloist
Tracy Wannomae   Flute,Bass Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Todd M. Simon   Flute,Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist,Echo
Otis Jackson   Drums,Keyboards,Vocals,Kalimba,Group Member
Dan Ubick   Guitar,Horn,Keyboards,Soloist,Horn Engineer
Morgan Adams   Organ,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Malcolm Catto   Drums
Hoagie Haven   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist
"Sloppy" Joe Johnson   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Dwayne Kelly   Hammond Organ,Arp Strings
Kevin Lightening   Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Derek Brooks   Synthesizer,Electric Bass
Kevin Lightning   Flute,Baritone (Vocal)
Joe Johnson   Percussion,Drums
"Hoagie" Haven   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

David Axelrod   Composer
Oliver Sain   Composer
Cliff Nobles   Composer
Billy Brooks   Composer
Marcos Valle   Composer
Peanut Butter Wolf   Executive Producer
Todd M. Simon   Horn Arrangements,Horn Conductor
Lesiman   Composer
Otis Jackson   Composer,Sound Effects
Madlib   Audio Production
Dan Ubick   Guitar Engineer,Keyboard Engineer
Connie Price & the Keystones   Arranger
Kamala Walker   Arranger

Customer Reviews