The Fox Valley Murders: A Joe Bain Mystery

The Fox Valley Murders: A Joe Bain Mystery

by Jack Vance


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


Ausley Wyett returns on parole to hometown Marblestone, after 16 years in prison for the rape and murder of young Tissie McAllister. He maintains he was innocent-but townfolk are scandalized he dared to come back.

One man dies, and it looks like a heart attack. Another dies after eating wild mushrooms. It looks like a hunting accident for the third, and a fourth falls and breaks his neck. Could it be simple coincidence that all of these men testified at Ausley's trial?

Deputy Joe Bain is elevated to acting-sheriff when Sheriff Cuchinello goes to his reward. Bain wants the full-term job, but it's an elected position and the competition is stiff, in one Lee Gervase-a modern, up-and-coming lawyer.

Ausley is the natural suspect, but the circumstances are facile and Joe Bain is convinced other hands are at work. But he needs to crack the case soon-before the election, before another man dies...

The Fox Valley Murders is Volume 21 of the Spatterlight Press Signature Series.Released in the centenary of the author's birth, this handsome new collectionis based upon the prestigious Vance Integral Edition. Select volumes enjoyup-to-date maps, and many are graced with freshly-written forewords contributedby a distinguished group of authors. Each book bears a facsimile of theauthor's signature and a previously-unpublished photograph, chosen from family archives for the period the book was written. These uniquefeatures will be appreciated by all, from seasoned Vance collector to new reader sampling the spectrum of this author's influential work forthe first time. - John Vance II

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619471382
Publisher: Spatterlight Press
Publication date: 04/12/2017
Pages: 202
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.46(d)

About the Author

California native Jack Vance (1916-2013) was one of the greats of science fiction. He was the author of dozens of sci-fi books and fantasy novels, including the popular Lyonesse and Dying Earth series and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning book The Last Castle. In 1997, he was honored as a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. He died in Oakland, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews