The Folkscene Collection, Vol. 3

The Folkscene Collection, Vol. 3


$12.82 $14.99 Save 14% Current price is $12.82, Original price is $14.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 29


The third collection of recordings culled from Roz and Howard Larman's Los Angeles-based FolkScene radio show is another varied anthology that demonstrates the diversity of musical styles bunched under the umbrella term "folk." Someone is singing and playing an acoustic guitar on nearly every one of the 13 tracks, but the approaches differ greatly, from Guy Davis' bluesy "See Me When You Can" (recorded January 28, 2001) to Loreena McKennitt's new age harp playing on "Huron 'Beltane' Fire Dance." The most recognizable name is that of Jackson Browne, the most recognizable song Janis Ian's "At Seventeen" (recorded "circa 1975," and thus the oldest track), and there are established folkies such as Cheryl Wheeler, the late Kate Wolf, and Katy Moffatt (duetting with Rosie Flores on "Walkin' on the Moon"), along with excellent folk-pop bands that are either long broken up (the Alpha Band, featuring T Bone Burnett) or at least on hiatus (Bryndle, consisting of Karla Bonoff, Wendy Waldman, Andrew Gold, and Kenneth Edwards). All have interesting things to say with their music, and all respond well to the relatively intimate environs. This is not all people hunched over guitars in a radio studio, either. The Bryndle track, "Lucky One," boasts a drummer, and the McKennitt track has a full band recorded in a concert hall. With more than 25 years of shows to draw from, the Larmans may be able to assemble collections like this indefinitely, which would be just fine with folk fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/10/2001
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651015529
catalogNumber: 155
Rank: 141534

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Laurie Lewis   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Rosie Flores   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Katy Moffatt   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Cheryl Wheeler   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Kate Wolf   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Karla Bonoff   Vocals
Jackson Browne   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Janis Ian   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
David Lindley   Vocals,Slide Guitar
Brian Hughes   Guitar
Alpha Band   Track Performer
Andrew Gold   Mandolin,Vocals
Wendy Waldman   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Todd Phillips   Acoustic Bass,Standup Bass
Hugh Marsh   Fiddle
Steven Soles   Guitar,Vocals
Scott Babcock   Drums
T Bone Burnett   Guitar,Vocals
Wally Ingram   Percussion
Carl Johnson   Acoustic Guitar
Rick Lazar   Percussion
David Mansfield   Violin,Vocals
Loreena McKennitt   Harp,Vocals
David Miner   Bass,Vocals
Tom Rozum   Mandolin,Vocals
Bill "Luigi" Bonk   Bass
Bryndle   Track Performer
Guy Davis   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Berkley   Percussion
Steve Lucas   Acoustic Bass
Joel Rafael   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Michael "Mike Dee" Johnson   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jamaica Rafael   Violin

Technical Credits

Utah Phillips   Composer
Wendy Waldman   Liner Notes
Steve Barker   Engineer
Eric Peltoniemi   Executive Producer,Graphic Design
Howard Larman   Producer
Peter Cutler   Producer,Engineer
Richard Hammond   Logo Design
Roz Larman   Producer
Sydney Carter   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews