The Family Next Door: The Heartbreaking Imprisonment of the Thirteen Turpin Siblings and Their Extraordinary Rescue

The Family Next Door: The Heartbreaking Imprisonment of the Thirteen Turpin Siblings and Their Extraordinary Rescue

by John Glatt

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Thirteen siblings were held captive in their own home—and lived to tell their story.

On January 14, 2018, a seventeen-year-old girl climbed out of the window of her Perris, California home and dialed 911 on a borrowed cell phone. Struggling to stay calm, she told the operator that she and her twelve siblings—ranging in age from two to twenty-nine—were being abused by their parents. When the dispatcher asked for her address, the girl hesitated. “I’ve never been out,” she stammered. She wasn’t even sure how to spell her own last name.

Louise and David Turpin presented themselves as loving, faithful parents. On social media they shared snapshots of family outings and vacations, often with their children in matching outfits. But what police discovered when they entered the Turpin home would eclipse the most shocking child abuse cases in history. For years, Louise and David had kept their children in increasing isolation, trapping them in a sinister world of torture, fear, and near starvation.

New York Times bestselling author John Glatt's The Family Next Door is the definitive, devastating, and unforgettable account of the Turpins: a family whose dark secrets would shock and captivate the world.

“Thoroughly researched and thoroughly disturbing.” —Booklist

“Unflinching...this chilling portrayal of abuse and secrecy may leave readers looking differently at their neighbors.”—Publishers Weekly

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250312303
Publisher: St. Martin''s Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/28/2020
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 40,155
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.80(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

English-born JOHN GLATT is the author of more than twenty-five books including The Lost Girls and My Sweet Angel, and has over thirty years of experience as an investigative journalist in England and America. He has appeared on television and radio programs all over the world, including Dateline NBC, Fox News, A Current Affair, BBC World News, and A&E Biography.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

Prologue 1

Part 1 The Seeds of Evil

Chapter 1 King Turpin 11

Chapter 2 "He's So Creepy" 18

Chapter 3 The Honor Student 24

Chapter 4 The Runaways 36

Part 2 The Family

Chapter 5 "I Thought Their Life Was Perfect" 47

Chapter 6 Meadowcreek Elementary School 52

Chapter 7 Rio Vista 67

Chapter 8 DL4EVER 78

Chapter 9 Lord of the Flies 86

Chapter 10 "Sow Those Wild Oats" 91

Chapter 11 Murrieta 100

Chapter 12 "So Many Little Bright-Eyed Dreamers" 109

Chapter 13 "Louise Turpin Is a Super Mom" 115

Chapter 14 Viva Las Vegas 122

Chapter 15 Perris 129

Chapter 16 "May You Be Blessed with More Children" 141

Chapter 17 Things 1 to 13 149

Chapter 18 "Where Is the Key?" 156

Part 3 The Magnificent Thirteen

Chapter 19 Rescue 165

Chapter 20 God Called on Them to Have So Many Children 177

Chapter 21 "I Would Call That Torture" 188

Chapter 22 "This Is Depraved Conduct" 201

Chapter 23 "We Stand United with the Turpin Children" 209

Chapter 24 Family Secrets 218

Chapter 25 Learning to Fly 224

Chapter 26 "She's Living in a Fantasy World" 235

Chapter 27 A New Life 241

Chapter 28 "My Two Little Sisters Are Chained Up!" 258

Chapter 29 "She Was Terrified of Her Mother" 275

Chapter 30 "Cruel and Unusual Punishment and Extreme Pain" 291

Chapter 31 "There's a Plethora of Evidence" 301

Epilogue 308

Customer Reviews