The Essential Toto

The Essential Toto

by TotoToto


$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While there have been a bunch of Toto budget-line compilations over the years, 2003's The Essential Toto is the first high-profile hits collection since 1990's Past to Present 1977-1990. At 14 songs, The Essential is one track longer than that compilation, but it shares eight cuts with Past to Present, which, of course, are all the big hits: "Africa," "Hold the Line," "Georgy Porgy," "Rosanna," "I Won't Hold You Back," "99," and "Pamela." What differentiates the two compilations, then, is that The Essential boasts a much better remastering and a better selection of songs, including the single "Make Believe" and a good selection of album tracks from their peak period, like "I'll Supply the Love." While this is missing some hits, they're minor ones that won't be missed by most listeners -- "Live for Today," "Afraid of Love," "Loves in the Night," "Waiting for Your Love," "Stranger in Town," and "Holyanna" -- and what's here is very good, an accurate representation of Toto at their best, making this their best compilation to date.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2003
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969062326
catalogNumber: 90623
Rank: 6544

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Toto   Primary Artist
James Newton Howard   Conductor
Tom Scott   Saxophone
John James   Background Vocals
Paulette Brown   Background Vocals
Lenny Castro   Percussion,Conga,Group Member
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Chuck Findley   Background Vocals
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Gary Herbig   Background Vocals
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Jim Horn   Recorder,Saxophone
David Hungate   Bass,Group Member
Phillip Ingram   Background Vocals
Tom Kelly   Background Vocals
Bobby Kimball   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Steve Lukather   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jenny Douglas McRea   Background Vocals
David Paich   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Group Member
James Pankow   Trombone,Background Vocals
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Steve Porcaro   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals,electronics,Group Member
Joe Porcaro   Percussion,Marimbas,Background Vocals,Vibes
Chris Trujillo   Percussion
Tony Walthers   Background Vocals
Fred White   Background Vocals
Rick Nelson   Background Vocals
Sidney   Percussion
Mike McDonald   Vocals
Jo Smith   Saxophone
Fred White   Background Vocals
Toto Horns   Background Vocals
Jacki Magee   Background Vocals
Martyn Ford Orchestra   Strings
Jimmy Pankow   Trombone

Technical Credits

Toto   Producer,Engineer
James Newton Howard   Orchestral Arrangements
Tom Scott   Horn Arrangements
Simon Phillips   Composer
Fee Waybill   Composer
David Coleman   Art Direction
Randy Goodrum   Composer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Bobby Kimball   Composer
Tom Knox   Producer
Steve Lukather   Composer
Stan Lynch   Composer
Marty Paich   Orchestral Arrangements
George Massenburg   Producer,Engineer
David Paich   Composer,Horn Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements
Jeff Porcaro   Composer
Bill Payne   Producer,Engineer
Steve Porcaro   Programming
Mike Porcaro   Composer
Elliot Scheiner   Producer,Engineer
Joseph Williams   Composer
Jaan Uhelszki   Liner Notes
Dirk Schubert   Engineer

Customer Reviews